Is Steem Fine The Way It Is?

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Maybe a controversial topic, but I give my opinion on the state of Steem.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Steemit should become the first Blockchain version of Reddit. The upvotes should stay the same, and downvotes should be a way to disagree with someone but not necessarily harm their account reputation.

Yea I don’t like the fact that downvote takes rewards away from someone just because the other party doesn’t like it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The idea was to have the best content receive the highest rewards based on "wisdom of the crowd". I think most people are simply too afraid to flag other people that are earning more than they think they should or their steem power is so low that it barely does anything. Also, there is no reward or incentive to flag a post either.

I think one account one vote just means that there will be a way to determine whether someone has multiple accounts. If rewards are based on how many votes you get as opposed to the Steem power of each account, this will incentivize people to make multiple accounts which is still destructive to the platform. If there is a way to determine that all 15 accounts belong to one person, then any vote you make with any of these accounts will only count as one vote as opposed to 15.

With the creation of SMTs, I also think that Steem Power will become obsolete for most people. Steem Power will just be a determining factor for how much bandwidth you are allocated. Steem Power will be held by business owners/creators of an SMT as opposed to all users. I'm not sure how I feel about that.

Good video!

Scary stuff. I know it wasn’t meant to be, but still. Scary stuff. I think steem works the way it is and I think people want perfection and global domination when really steem is fine being a small community that just works. Doesn’t have to take over Facebook or anything.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think that the problem is that good authors that post informative content are nullified by all the $$$ spam manipulating visibility. I want to see the immutable nature of posts here becoming a repository for well into the future but someone's post about their lunch picture just dillutes what this can become. Write quality content now and the rewards will come later.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm, yea that sounds awful. If there was no stake weight to the upvote AND a downvote button. There would be a reality check real quick on human behavior. I think regular users would suffer MUCH more than the people that people label as abusers.

Everyone has their own random as hell definition on what good content is, and is 100% sure they are the proper authority to make this determination. So there wouldn't just be whale wars anymore, it would just be all out FISH WAR.

If you make a video on youtube and someone gives you a thumbs down it doesn't take money away from you, so you can easily ignore/shake that off, but if somebody is messing with your money, there's no way you just ignore that.

I think a lot of these problems can be addressed with interface and UX changes ie. more features on the website. Please everyone check out Steempeak.com(I don't work for or with them) they are trying to build something that I think can really add a lot of value and has the potential to become the new hub to replace Steemit if the devs here don't want to/don't have time to actually work on the site.

I think that you may have been right in your previous updated where you forecasted steem to get down to $.95. At that point hopefully it will turn back up with a vengeance.

Time will tell us

Posted using Partiko iOS

Crazy watching your vid. I feel the same way steem is awesome the apps are awesome but steemit not so much. I don’t really care about the I just see buy more. You got me bout to research these smart media contacts though lol

Don’t waste your time. S P E C U L A T I O N

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ok thank you. Checking out the rank site. Was it steemwhales or is there another. Sounded like you said S T

Posted using Partiko iOS

steemst.com I believe

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you that’s the one. As an Aries I’m challenging myself to move up the ranks lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

As I see it, yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Great to know

Posted using Partiko iOS

Trevon Mann how’s it goin

Great!

Posted using Partiko iOS

hadnt heard from you in a min tre how you been man

I’ve been here posting daily. Keep up haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

I agree steem is fine the way it is. Steemit.com def needs some fixing up to do.

I think we look to steemit to much. I think someone else should take the flagship spot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I read the SMT whitepaper because I was pretty skeptical too. In order to have the bandwidth to use the SMT's you will need steempower in order to operate. So, bandwidth on the stem blockchain will be required for SMT's to function. SMT's will, in theory, bring upward pressure to steem so that SMT users can function on the blockchain.

I still am skeptical about the whole thing. I wrote an article a few months ago about how SMT's will likely kill steemit but likely be alright for steem. You can see the whole article here.

https://steemit.com/steem/@allcapsonezero/more-time-travel-it-s-not-about-steem-it-s-about-its-kids

I missed the announcement of your contest. When did you mention it? I'll go watch the last few days of videos that I missed. I'll enter. If you aren't a fan of strange photography, haiku, or Japan stuff, I probably don't stand a chance, but I'll give it a shot.

BTW, thanks for the pointer to steemst.com. I am rank #9998—woohoo! Wish I had extra money so I could buy more steem and level up faster. As it is, everything I get from the curation trail goes back into powering up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74