Sndbox Summer Camp: Quest 1, Task 1- Traveling Around Japan & Nan Tien Temple

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Hi Steemians,

I came across this summer quest because of @anomadsoul and decided to give it a go. Looking at the three domains mentioned, 2 out of the 3 topics I’ve been sharing on Steemit since I joined mid last year - traveling & food where I will focus on traveling today. I joined Steemit with the mindset of sharing my travel stories hence why I have chosen my username @travelgirl. And while traveling, you could experience local food so I tend to share my finds as well.

I started traveling regularly since university as I worked a few days part time here and there and would save my wages to travel various places. But you would ask why traveling? Why not save the money to get a property or buy a car? I would tell my friends traveling has broaden my horizon. You get to meet new people, learn a new culture, try local foods and the list goes on. You would not be able to experience all this by sitting at home. Even though I have a family now with young babies, we still travel as we want our kids to experience and see new things.

IMG_8204.JPG

IMG_8436.JPG

IMG_4348.JPG

I have traveled to many places but the most favourite country I’ve been to would be Japan. Since working, I have been to Japan every since year (except the year when I was pregnant with my kids). We have experienced all 4 seasons in Japan and the most favourite part of Japan are the snowfields in Niseko and Japan’s countryside.

3e9eb4af-5870-4d92-95b0-b13e2d4feac4.jpeg
image from friend

After going to numerous countries to snowboard, Niseko by far has the best powder snow. Not only they have night ski (Australia doesn’t have that every night!), the food was excellent and overall cost was one of the most reasonable.

Then you have the famous cherry blossom in Japan in Spring. People all around the world will fly into Japan to see these beautiful scenes and locals will set up their mats at the park to enjoy the scenery.

IMG_6356.JPG

IMG_6432.JPG

IMG_6848.JPG
baby E was learning to walk

If Spring is not the right season for you, then you can always try to visit Japan in Autumn to see the famous red leaves. There are many vantage points to see the autumn leaves around Japan. The leaves can also come in orange and yellow colours.

IMG_4229.jpg

IMG_4367.jpg

Lastly, Summer is also a great time to visit Japan. you can also try and visit different areas of Japan to experience their summer festivals like we did one year at Tokushima and danced with locals.

IMG_3530.jpg
dancing on the streets with locals

IMG_3518.jpg

IMG_3684.jpg

Overseas travel is always fun but local travels are also pretty cool. Last weekend, I came back from a weekend away with two other families and on the way back, we stopped by a famous temple - Nan Tien Temple at Wollongong. I’ve made a video for you to see what I have experienced. Hope you like it.

!steemitworldmap -34.4673145 lat 150.8492576 long d3scr


Thanks for reading. If you like my post, please follow, comment and upvote me. There will be more exciting posts & destinations to come.

謝謝你們收看。 請你們繼續跟隨,留言和投我一票 👍. 我會分享更多遊記和其他有趣的 blog.

All photos are taken by me & co in all my blogs/stories unless quoted. 每張相片都是我們自己拍的 📷


My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Enjoy your travel sharings, and the philosophy of life as well!😍

thanks for your continual support :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelgirl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=1fd01520-2459-11e8-a49a-8f5a21155605


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow nice photos! Japan is one of my favorite countries in the world, even i've never been there. That's so cool that you experienced all 4 seasons there, i would be happy if i could be there for one of them, haha :D Oh and i think i like spring the most! But winter is beautiful as well i think.

i think every season has some good bits - probably summer will be my least favourite cos its so hot

日本達人.

我一個細路去旅行有時都辛苦.

你2個細路, 真系要有好體同定力 先玩得開心. 俾個讚你.

哈哈我的忍耐力都要很強。

I love your accent 😋

Haha thanks - the typical Australian accent

👌🏾😃

Good to see someone else is doing this quest. Sam is filming some parts of our 'get-out-of-your-comfort-zone' DTube video today and will edit it later and maybe even post today (if not, tomorrow). Just woke up, so after upvoting and commenting on a few other posts, we'll get started on our 'Journey So Far' and 'Analysis a Post' posts before heading out this afternoon to film. Best of luck and we're sure you'll do well with your following and reputation :D we're like you, in the sense, why not give it a go!

thanks so much for your continual support. There are many great writers on the platform also participating this quest like yourselves but I guess its something we should try out and challenge ourselves. I've just put up the video and doing something like that in a crowded place was a tad embarrassing but it was fun! Good luck with your submission as well :)

You're welcome! We're just giving it a go and have a lot to do before the deadline later today, but got the material. It will go down right down to the wire. But we'll get our submissions in. The deadline is 01:59 A.M. On Tuesday morning (our time) - less than 17 hours, but got work/Uni, commuting and gym in the next 10 hours. So, 7 hours to do three posts and a summary post!!! #wegotthis

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know this post made the Honorable mentions list in the latest edition of the #TravelDigest!

红叶很美啊!小朋友喜欢日本吗?

小朋友非常喜歡日本。大的常常問 "Japanese home when?" OMG hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75