You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to: Use your Android mobile device as streaming camera with OBS

in #dlive6 years ago

Thanks for posting this. Very helpful and straight to the point.
I just ordered a USB-C to Gigabit ethernet adapter and I'm hoping a wired connection will further reduce latency. Are you aware of any 4k IP camera apps and any idea if this would even work?

Sort:  

Hi,
thanks, I'm glad you found my article helpful!
I don't own any 4k camera, so I can only guess. I could imagine that there are apps supporting it - maybe even the IP Webcam app, did you try it and does it give you higher resolutions than 1080p in the settings?
Another point to consider is: for what use case would you need a 4k camera? If you just use it as a game live streaming camera showing your face in a small box, 720p is enough for example.
Also, many viewing devices won't even support 4k resolution.
Then there's the higher bandwidth usage both on the upstream and downsteam side...many things to consider.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50