Compassion Never Runs Out Of Fashion!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

@karensuestudios and I had a very special experience at Louca, a 100% plant-based, organic, zero waste restaurant. They're located in Quebec city. The food looked and was delicious, and the co-owner even agreed to appear on camera to give us a little presentation of his awesome business. He was really nice.

I've already shared a couple of the reasons why I eat plant food exclusively. I've only seen benefits from this diet so far. It's been one of the best life choices I've ever made. I don't feel like I've lost anything, on the contrary, I've definitely gained a lot.

I often hear from people that they would never be able to maintain a 100% plant-based diet because they couldn't live with such and such. I guess I can say that was my case somehow. I was vegetarian for 5 years prior to becoming 100% plant-based, even though I in my heart I knew I wanted to do better.

The Pleasures Of Life!

Suffering is the worst part of life. I'm always looking to avoid it, for myself and for others. It's the very essence of life, I'm a pleasure seeker.

"Most people share the moral intuition that the infliction of suffering and death on a sentient being require some sort of justification and pleasure isn't a good justification but that's the only justification we have for eating them, wearing them and using them in most context. That's the only justification we have." - Gary Francione

Youtube Version

Might Doesn't Make Right!

Let's put ourselves in the shoes of those animals. What if extra-terrestrial beings were to land and treat us like we treat animals, how would we feel? A large part of the population use to treat many humans as mere cattle, yet that didn't make it right and now today most people would agree it wasn't right.

Circle Of Life

The circle of life is sometimes used to try to justify the way we treat animals. Yet with this mentality, what couldn't be justify? Canibalism is part of the so called circle of life. Shark embryos cannibalize their littermates in the womb, with the largest embryo eating all but one of its siblings.[1]

Conclusion

As I've said, I've had overall positive experiences with this diet and I highly encourage people to research it on their own.

"It is always dangerous to ignore the suffering of any living being, of whatever species, even if we think it necessary to sacrifice an animal for the benefit of the majority. To deny the suffering involved, or to avoid thinking about it, is a convenient solution, but such an attitude opens the door to all kinds of excesses as we witness in wartime. It also destroys our own happiness. As I often say, sympathy and compassion always end up proving beneficial." - Dalai Lama

Ethics

From Farm To Fridge (My Reaction)

Earthlings

"Earthlings is a 2005 American documentary film about humanity's use of other animals as pets, food, clothing, entertainment, and for scientific research. The film is narrated by Joaquin Phoenix, features music by Moby, was directed by Shaun Monson, Executive Produced by Libra Max and was co-produced by Maggie Q, all of whom are vegan."

Health

Dr. Michael Herschel Greger

Michael Herschel Greger (born 1972) is an American physician, author, and professional speaker on public health issues. He authored "How Not To Die: Discover the Foods Scientifically Proven to Prevent and Reverse Disease" a New York Times bestseller.

Michael Herschel Greger's Health Phylosophy

Plant-Based Athlete And Feats

Patrik Baboumian 555 Kilogram World record

Top 13 Vegan Athletes

Environment

Animal agriculture is the leading cause of species extinction, ocean dead zones, water pollution, and habitat destruction. (link)

Animal agriculture is responsible for 91 percent of Amazon rain-forest destruction. (link)

Source: Cowspiracy

"Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret is a 2014 documentary film which explores the impact of animal agriculture on the environment, and investigates the policies of environmental organizations on this issue."

"An updated version of the documentary, executive-produced by Leonardo DiCaprio, premiered globally on Netflix on September 15, 2015."[Wikipedia]

Why I love Publishing On DLive.io!

To learn more click here!

Thanks Karensuestudios!

50% of the profit of this post will go to @karensuestudios!


My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Greetings, great teamsteem

Really, having compassion for others is very important in our lives.

I have since been here since I bought my dog, besides problems that have arisen in my personal life, I started to help a lot of dogs that are in the street.

I do not know what it's like in your country, but here, unfortunately, we always see abandoned dogs on the street.

I live near a church that has a square in it, unfortunately there are abandoned dogs. There's one sleeping there for about a week. I can not adopt him because I live in a small apartment and I have no money for another puppy.

The good thing is that a lot of people who live nearby help.

Thank you and good day to both of you and to the readers of the page!

We need more restaurants like that! I watched earthlings and after that I just couldn't consume animal products any more, not just food, I'm also trying not to wear clothes that have animals products in them, I'm also trying to use as little plastic as possible. I'm so happy to see more Vegans on here so well done for making this video!

Amazing posting start on trending @dlive

Hey @tanbay =) Yo should join our discord channel "Vegans of Steemit". This is the link :
https://discord.gg/VQVzpxw

Hope to see you in our great community!

Thanks for the tip! :)

I am with mercy and I love meat and it is a blessing
This is human nature .. Wake up
Thanks for sharing

Very cool. I would turn vegetarian just for my own good, eating meat right now is one of the worst things you can do to your body. It's a process though

Why is it one of the worst things? I personally believe it's very important where the meat you eat comes from. I come from a small village where farmers treat their animals very well and I always enjoy eating that meat! (Processed) Meat from mass production, however, I really dislike!

@teamsteem Concerning Gary Francione's quote, I think the reason most people continue to inflict pain and suffering on "sentient beings" is because they have grow to see that as the only way to ensure their comforts (food, clothing, cosmetics etc). They simply can't do without these comforts

Man can live and be healthy without having to kill animals to feed. If he eats meat, he becomes guilty of killing the animals, only to please his own palate.

Great post, my wife and I have been eating more and more vegetarian and we feel better about ourselves and the way we're treating the world.

Cool! I'm glad to hear that!

Good effort on the post.
Appreciate to see top users serve as an example,
D.

I have been slowly shifting my diet more towards plants and I can honestly say I feel better. Not just physically but mentally as well. It's a great feeling knowing you're not participating in the cruel practices of animals. Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53