[dlive.io question] — how do I cut myself out from the background?

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

So I was asked this question a few times this week.

I had to work out what they were asking for when they said how do I take myself away from the background so I wanted to quickly put together a little post about genlocking (aka, greenscreen) — I’m not going to go into depth about that because you can find lots of videos and information about lighting and green screens.

I use the elgato pull up green screen, I did have a ghetto green sheet but I’d kinda used it to death and it was starting to look a little sorry for itself because it really needs to be stretch out over some wood for a decent background, it’s a little task I need to do at some point.

Hopefully the video will help some people to understand how you are removing the background from the video and how it layers up over the top of other layers, think of it like photoshop where you have many layers, all you are doing is removing the green colour leaving yourself.

Hope it helps!



pinterest epic wins pinboard → brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won vloggie for node666 (san fran 2006) → television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams in april 2011 → went to phil campbell, alabama to help raise money after tornado ripped up the town (was on sky news, bbc news)→ CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros → crowdfunded digital signage concept called pi street → now living life through digital blockchains.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

hey @augustoval hope this helps! :)

Hi Teamhumble,

I am making my first exploration of D-Live (I would like set up a weekly science show on Steemit).

I was impressed by your 'foldable greenscreen". I have a green screen but it takes ages to set up, and I have to take it down each time ... Could you point me towards this product. Thank you!

A few questions I can't find answers too also: When you stream on D-Live, is it possible to prevent automatic posting on Steemit (I would like to run test live streams before I really go live). Is it also possible to remove / manipulate the videos after streaming (delete, export to post elsewhere etc...)

Apologies for asking so many questions! and if you answer, I will appreciate it very much.

oh, btw, I downloaded and installed Ookla's SpeedTest that I saw on another of your videos. When I saw the privacy policy, I nearly gotr a heart attack. No way, it was an instant uninstall. Be careful...

I found a web-based app instead to measure DL and UL capabilities... (https://speedsmart.net/start)

Be well, and SteemStream on!

hey @muphy how's it going... ok, so gonna answer really quickly for you. .

  • the screen you want is the elgato green screen, you'll find it on amazon
  • you can't prevent posting to steemit when you go live on dlive but you could setup a test steemit account
  • yes you can download the videos from dlive, but don't rely on it, record at the same time if you can
  • i'm not concerned about the privacy policy for a speedtest, i've got nothing to hide and everything to gain because i run a 4g connection so anything i can submit date wise to improve that i'm ok with.
  • remember that @dlive is very new, you can download the stream but i do max two hours to make sure i get the file, longer might not save the file, no way you can export elsewhere right now.

i'm super glad my videos help you! :)

feel free to ask anymore questions and i hope these answers help you move forward! thanks for watching my videos, i'll take some of these questions and factor them into my courses so thank you! :)

Wow! Thank you for your answer, it does the trick in clarifying my thoughts.

And also for making me discover OBS: I had no clue this soft existed. I am exploring it right now and....

...I'm soooo excited!

It is an amazing piece of kit and quite smooth to use. Now, I have my head boiling with ideas and things to try. I am a content producer (Physics lessons & music tutorials), I use Camtasia, and am totally new to streaming.

I have tested recording videos on OBS. The scene system is fantastic to animate your stream in real time like a fully produced video!

You have gained a loyal follower here!
Thanks again for sharing your knowledge of this stuff to the community. Am Super grateful!

you are very welcome. these comments are my oxygen.

:-)

Just to let you know the snowballing effect of discovering OBS thanks to your posts...

I am attempting a new project, check it out, and tell me what you think.
https://steemit.com/dlive/@muphy/e7b69a20-248e-11e8-b28f-f11f19bbfcf3

By the way, I ordered the green screen. It was tough to find as out of stock a bit everywhere, but I managed to find one from a German re-seller. Can't wait to get it!

Thanks again!

fantastic, will check out your clip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42