You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: May Day!!! 💛 What Do You Think Surfergirls Do On A 'Worker's Day'?

in #dlive6 years ago

Here in Australia in my state of Victoria we have a Labour Day public holiday in March. But happy May Day! I agree that it is one of the most important public holidays we have. I think lots of Australians are unfortunately a little apathetic when it comes to keeping solidarity with the workers, even though our Labour Day commemorates the achievement of the eight-hour day all the way back in 1855. The country was really quite progressive back then. I retain hope that people will be the most important part of our massive economy, not big business :)

Sort:  

Great comment, @sue-stevenson! Thank you :-)

I retain hope that people will be the most important part of our massive economy, not big business :)

If this was an article, I'd resteem it right away!
Maybe nowadays the true value of human labour is not always appreciated the way it should be... Great and important reminder, thank you!

I think it's true that our labour is totally unappreciated. Alomg with our bodies. If we can't slice ourselves thin enough to fit on some corporation's spreadsheet then we don't matter.

Luckily a new wave is coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63