Making Friends With A Vietnamese Local (Without Speaking The Same Language)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Life can throw some curveballs at you sometimes. If you’re open to what life has to throw at ya, you can end up having some really fun, unexpected experiences.

I was walking home yesterday, when I saw a Vietnamese guy fishing in the lake.

I don’t really know what compelled me to stop and try to talk to him, but I did it.

The fun thing about not being able to speak the local language is you get the chance to play a never-ending game of charades.

If you understand each other, you win.

If you don’t, then you lose.

Like, when I tried to order mangos with chili on it, but got a mango smoothie instead.

I failed that game, but it wasn’t TOO hard of a loss, because the mango smoothie was pretty good :).

Honestly, there's just something so beautiful about being able to have a connection with someone without even speaking the same language.

It just started with me wanting to take a picture... and the random boy was nice enough to say yes.

Then we started “talking” sort of, if you can call it that. He did tell me his name is "Dang" which I understood at least.

We somehow ended hanging out and fishing together for about an hour. I tried to speak in Vietnamese, and he tried to speak in English.

We tried to talk some through google translate, which is always hilarious… because sometimes it says the wrong thing.

He typed to me: You have no social skills.

I’m still trying to decide if that’s what he meant to say or not. It’s a toss up, haha.

He said he isn't from Hanoi, but from a province somewhere else:

Here’s the video of us hanging out.

If anyone has any good video editing advice, please let me know!

It took me about 3 hours just to figure out how to convert this thing and upload it from a .mov file so I could get it on dlive... I'm assuming there's a better way.

But I'm really proud anyway...

... because I wanted to use Dlive instead of youtube. So I put in the mother of all efforts and got this thing converted!!!

It's not the most professional movie, because I'm still developing my skills, but at least you can still see Dang’s awesome personality in the video, and I guess that's the main thing anyway.

Also, I let Dang try to film some of it..and I'm thinking maybe he's never tried to film with a camera before haha. I know for sure he has a basic phone, so maybe doesn't know how to use a smart phone really.

I'm so glad I randomly decided to stop and watch him fish, 'cause I had a blast.

I think he had fun, too, because he saw me again today and invited me for "water" (tea).

Just this once...pretend you liked it, 'cause I stayed up until 2 am for this shiz haha.

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

hi hi! I made a post about our Moberi experience! Thanks again for the suggestion. hehe :)

Aww so cool!!! K, looking it up now. I'm so excited to see this!!

woa woa, thật tuyệt vời, tiếc là mình ở TP HCM nên không tham dự được. Chúc chị có nhiều trãi nghiệm thú vị ở Hà Nội <3

Lots of laugh in this vid !! :D Hahahha dudeee I do that all the time! :D Talk to them and laugh (while don't know shit about what they say) LOLOL I miss traveling already.

Lol you're so cute. Come travel with me! Maybe to Bali!

I might go to the meep up in Hanoi on June 10, would you come join?? :D

This is getting more and more difficult by the minute! I already made my schedule before the meetup was planned in Hanoi. My flight is leeching for Da Nang, Vietnam in a week!

I was going to live by the beach for a month or two

God damn, I'm jealous so you enjoy then! ❤❤

I'm jealous if you go to the meetup! haha I'm SO sad to miss it!

Nice to meet you @nomadicsoul . I knew you when reading hangbeee short meet up with you near West Lake. That's funny when you trying to talk Vietnamese by using Google translation. I hope we have chance to talk together in next meet up in comming June

Nice to meet you too! 😃 I'm so sad because I won't be here anymore in June 😢😢

You can simply complete .mov by changing it to .mp4 right away. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't! Congratulations on being able to post DLive! I've had problems myself. Good thing it's no longer a bother than it used to! ^^

Thanks! I found a tool to do it, but it took about 2 hours to convert!! That didn't seem right. Maybe it's normal...haha

Why not try just change the .mov to mp4 and see if it'll do the trick and you don't have to use a software. ^^ I'm curious if that would work. Two hours is long indeed!

thanks! I tried, it didn't work :/ Oh well. I'll figure out a faster way eventually, I'm sure!

Aja! Sorry to hear that but I know you will!

I seriously don't know what to say about this:

If anyone has any good video editing advice, please let me know!

The video looks super professional to me. I may have to sign up with you for tutorials.

What did you throw back inside tge water?

aw thanks you're so sweet! I threw the fish back in!

Wow, that's so kind of you.

Congratulation nomadicsoul! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 33min with 18 votes.

cool! I had no idea, thanks for letting me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63927.21
ETH 2754.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65