Can you think yourself wealthy

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

So many people in the western "developed" countries are working all hours, trying to make ends meet, to afford the things they want and the things they need for their families. No wonder "abundance" is a buzzword in the self-development industry. Many people think abundance, or wealth, is just a question of having the right mindset.

And in some ways it is just a case of having the right mindset – though maybe not in the way you might think. Most of us in the west have more "stuff" than we know what to do with – so much so, that decluttering has become an industry, with popular TV programmes giving advice on the subject.

Many people pay for storage units because they don't have enough room at home for all the things they have. I've done this in the past. And I'm still rediscovering very nice clothes that I'd forgotten I had, from when I was in my last job before I was made redundant!

Clutter does not just confine itself to "stuff". Bank accounts can be cluttered with direct debits that are no longer needed.

The workplace makes demands on our time, our energy and our wallets.

If we allow ourselves the time and space to breathe and take stock, we could be astonished at the amount of hidden wealth we actually have.

My video is at DLive

Swirly divider.png

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 265 (9/23/18)

I really can't stand clutter, it's a bit of a pet peeve of mine. Not that everything has to look sterile or anything, I do like a cozy home, just not one that's full of useless items :)

I envy you! Actually I do a lot of decluttering, but I'm sure my possessions have learned how to breed.

Tell me about it, @bingbabe is a packrat and I have to live with it. I keep threatening her with a visit from the hoarders TV peeps.

My mum is too, and I think some of it has rubbed off on me, but I do try...

I know I certainly have an obsession with clutter, it does make me wonder why we always we seem so obsessed with filling our lives with material things.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yes, it can be comforting, or status-enhancing or making people feel more secure. All sorts of reasons - yet such a tricky issue to deal with.

So true when it comes to stuff and clutter. We hang on to too much stuff thinking that those are "memories" when memories are not physical but mental and the stuff just services as the stimulation device.
Do we really need a stimulation device for remembering something if it is truly worth remembering?

It's true, and I think so many emotions are bound up in this area.

I am just trying to not buy useless things but I had done it in the past just because I thought that I needed them.

Yes that can be so easy to do. Though sometimes you can sell them on ebay.

You're spot on. Clutter does not necessarily means "stuffs" but also financial matters and even relationship with other human being. SO yeah, I would say declutter our life from things and relationship we no longer wanted, needed and even giving value to our life.

giving value to our life

I think that is the key in all of these areas. If it doesn't give value to our life in some way, it shouldn't be around. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61319.81
ETH 2376.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55