Why abundance can lead to complacency

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Abundance is a kind of self-help buzzword these days, yet in western “developed” countries it could be said that we have too much abundance, of material things at least.

We're so used to abundance that we take it for granted, and this has led us towards a convenience society where many material things are seen as easily replaceable, and not valued.

While material things are often not valued, production IS highly valued. From a young age it is drummed into us that it's a good thing to be productive; to get up as early as possible and produce, produce, produce.

But much of what we produce is thrown away. Much (though not all) of what we produce is just trash!

Valuable veggies

I was thinking about all this as I made soup the other day. I was using vegetables that I order as a regular veg box delivery from a shop called Locavore. The veggies are grown with a lot of love and care using time and effort rather than chemical pesticides. They are sold at an incredibly good value price - £10 (about $13) for a “medium” box.

I recently posted about an event I attended that was hosted by Locavore, that was focused on the subject of waste.

Because they are grown without the use of pesticides or irradiation, they go off more quickly than shop-bought vegetables. If I don't get round to using them quickly enough, and they start to go off, there's always that thought in the back of my mind that I could just buy some more veggies at the supermarket.

This is how our material abundance makes put less value on what we have. We take it for granted. It's also because we're so busy. We set ourselves so many targets to produce so much, to do so much, that we can't keep up, and that's when things get thrown away. I found myself thinking about this as I made the soup. I needed to go out, so I was rushing it. But soup making can be an enjoyment in itself, if we take time to chop the vegetables carefully, to grind the spices, to enjoy each part of the process.

I like the idea of initiatives like the slow food movement - I think there's even a slow clothes movement! I have tried to slow down in my own life. After I was made redundant in 2009 I started my own business. I liked the idea that I could choose to work my own hours and just do the work I needed to do, but of course I ended up working all hours.

I love this quote from Ellen Goodman:

"Normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work, driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for, in order to get to a job that you need so you can pay for the clothes, car and the house that you leave empty all day in order to afford to live in it."

Abundance can be a wonderful thing, but we need to make that abundance valuable and not take it for granted so that it just becomes yet more trash to throw away.

My video is at DLive

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

very true and i encourage those to live minimally. i loved the plants in the background and congrats on dlive! it takes a brave soul to get that going!

Thanks for watching @eaglespirit. I can't take personal credit for the plants - they are my mum's. She has green fingers :)
My advice on dlive is... just do it! A few years ago I was thinking about doing some YouTubes, and I agonised about it for ages... should I try to put over a fun and crazee persona? Should I just do a voice-over and B-roll? Then I developed a thyroid problem and I decided to treat it with high-dose iodine, quite a controversial and experimental treatment. Suddenly I had the idea to do a YouTube video diary. I just wanted to reach out to the small number of people who might also be trying out this treatment, or thinking about it.
I was so nervous that I drove to a quiet spot in an industrial area, parked my car, set up the camcorder and started to tell it all my troubles! When I uploaded it, I got a really small, but encouraging response. I continued to make regular YouTubes - not in my car though! I'm now fully recovered from my thyroid problem (the treatment worked) and I get encouraging comments on my YouTubes every day, even though I rarely make those videos any more. I'm glad I didn't even put on make-up for that first video and just tried to be myself, because looking back, it shows how ill I was, and how much better I am now.
That totally got me over my video nerves. I realised that people are not really interested in how my hair looks or in my delivery style - they're more interested in what I'm saying. So if I feel passionate about a subject, I just jump in front of the camera. If I'm really not happy with some of it, I just edit it out - but I try not to do too much editing as it's so time-consuming!

@natubat nice! love your mum already LOL
yeah i just heard some bad stuff about dlive now so i will have to pass. wahhhh
i had thought of doing some stuff and now we just need a better vid system i guess. ho hum.thank you for your encouragement! xo

So true when it comes to abundance , and most of what we have in abundance really isn't worth having to begin with.

It is just madness to work and work and leave all our money behind when we die.

You are so right my friend. There are many more important things in life, and people need to get off their treadmills and value the things they have.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 240 (8/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I'm already on the slow food movement, I think. I've been a slow eater for as long as I can remember.

I think of food in terms of surface area. My stomach doesn't have teeth, so I make a point to chew my food thorough. I also take small bites so as to allow for better management of the chewing process. The joy of eating is in the flavor, and breaking things down with teeth will yield more flavor.

Plus, if I eat slowly, I tend to fill up faster and not feel hungry later on.

After all that thinking about food, I just don't see the point in wolfing down food anymore. So I think you're on the right track with the slow food movement.

Good point! I have to admit, I've always been a fast eater! I think I could benefit from slowing down a little.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67