Eight Hills of Edinburgh: a city walk

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

I'm from Glasgow, just 45 mins away from Edinburgh - yet I never realised how hilly our capital city is! There's always been a rivalry between Glasgow and Edinburgh, but I'm happy to admit that Edinburgh is a very beautiful city with many interesting historical monuments – including a castle and a palace.

Our walk covered 29.4km (18.28 miles) and a total ascent of 934.8m (3067 feet). It started at 11am outside Ye Olde Inn at Davidson Mains, took us 8 hours, 7 mins and 32 seconds, and ended at 7.15pm in The Booking Office pub next to Waverley Railway Station.

Tags: hiking, travel, walking, Scotland, Edinburgh

My video is at DLive

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

My partner and I have recently visited Scotland, it's a beautiful country. We were towards Loch Awe, we didnt get to see any of Glasgow other then the motorway through it. Nice to know there are walks there.

Yes, Scotland is so beautiful, and Loch Awe well deserves its name. I've no idea who's idea it was to put a motorway through the centre of Glasgow - the M8. I call it the Misery 8. At least it helps you get out of the city quickly - when it's not full of traffic jams! Glasgow does have some nice parks, architecture, cafés and museums though, and very friendly people. It's worth a visit.

@natubat
What a fantastic video you've made! I've not yet ventured into Scotland but hope to take my children and lady when they're up fro hiking these epic distances! We do go hiking here down in Derbyshire but 5 miles is their maximum at ages 4 and 8.
The views up there are incredible!
Also, I love your accent and your commentary is really great!!!
Top post!
Cheers
Darren
PS. I hope you get some DLive Love soon!!!!

Thanks Darren! I'm really glad you enjoyed my video. Scotland is a paradise if you like walking - as long as you don't mind the rain too much and the midges! May is a great month for walking, as we usually get a lot of sunshine and dry weather then.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=natubat
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=6118fc20-64ac-11e8-b143-ffce16c65548


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31