Crypto & Cardio #10: EOS Main-net is active! Should STEEM be concerned?

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

In today's video I discuss EOS being activated, the fact that I believe EOS will spawn a load of "mini- Steemits" and what this might mean for STEEM and users of STEEM.

Lift off

First off, congratulations to EOS. After four days of Block Producer voting the 15% threshold has been reached and the chain is now active.

Unstake

By default everyone's tokens are staked. Users should now be able to unstake their token. It will take 72 hours from issuing the unstake command to having liquid EOS that you can transfer etc.

"Mini-Steemits"

With EOS now active I've been doing a bit of future glazing. Beyond people trying to launch ICOs and airdrops on EOS, one of the initial applications I think we'll see from EOS is a load of Steemit clones. In many ways it is the low-hanging fruit. STEEM has been very successful in terms of delivering a blockchain-based social media platform that runs pretty much as you'd expect a social media site of it's size to run. Whenever people in Block.One talk about the kind of apps that can be made on EOS, STEEM is often sited.

Over the last couple, I've heard people mention 'Karma' (a social media site that rewards people for good deeds they've done and recorded to the blockchain) and Trybe (which will be some kind fo knowledge sharing network on EOS). As well as Ono and potential a social media site launched by Dan.

Best Laid plans

While I think this is great and have long advocated for competitors to Steem, it is important to note that STEEM 'alternatives' will likely face the same challenges STEEM did.

From initial distribution, I know that airdrops are all the rage however they are no silver bullet and can result in Whales have the majority of the tokens thus undue influence over rewards.

Even if as a founder you have the intension of, say, a social network that rewards good deeds, if rewards are allocated in a decentralised manner there is always the risk that 'your community' will not necessarily play ball. When STEEM started no-one could have foresaw the prevalence of bid bots etc. Other platforms will likely face their own challenges the popular they get.

Network effect

Speaking of popular, trying to overcome the network effects of STEEM will be difficult too. The strongest aspect of STEEM is the community and whilst it cannot be taken for granted, first place is STEEM's to lose as oppose to a position that is readily up for grabs.

Token-omics

I'll be interested to see the economic models of some of these tokens in particular; who will be buying them? Giving them out is the easy part; do an airdrop, distribute new tokens to content creators. However cracking the nut of 'why is anyone buying this thing? will get harder an harder the more tokens emerge.

Up the ante

Ultimately I think the emergence of "mini-Steemits" is a good thing for everyone that posts on STEEM. It's more choice and more opportunities to carve your niche/ audience. It will also force the Steemit Team to up their game and I'm sure they'll welcome the competition.

Not Only But Also

I don't see it being a binary choice for content creators. I believe content creators will be able to 'cross-post' and open up the pool of rewards and tokens available to them. I believe their will be 'aggregation sites' that enable this; it will be the norm to post on these aggregators and for token holders in those communities to decide if/ how to reward posters.

Anyway, enough fortune telling from me, let's see what the future holds. However I won't be breaking open the popcorn to watch, I'll definitely be looking to participate in the exciting times ahead!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

The competition stimulates quality, and if as a result of such competition of different platforms Stimit becomes better, I am for. There are many things here that need optimization.

Hello, @nanzo-scoop and everyone! I've created a new Steemit t-shirt and I hope that you will love it as I was working on it for a whole day! You can get it here:
https://teespring.com/steem-to-the-moon
front (7).jpg

It will be interesting to see how long we will have to wait for Dan's social media app to be released? How high it sits on his priority list..?. Will it be launched to great fanfare quite quickly (as a statement of intent to Steemit) or is it all still very much an idea that needs a ton of work before it can be released?

It wouldn’t be bad to have a steemit competitor.
Competition gets the most out of peope and also out of projects! Maybe I will result in steem stepping up a notch.
The competition will have the advantage of learning from the mistakes Steem did make and prevent dor instance upvote bots and delegations!
I did sign up to scorum today. And did compare it with Steem, while it wasn’t bad it does restrict you to one major niche! Which actually sucks!
While I do like sports, I also have opinion about other topics and I don’t want to switch from social media dependng on the topic!
Let’s hope this will be a trigger for the bulls to arrive in the cryptomarket!
Cheers,
Peter

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

STEEM has nothing to worry about, in fact, the so called "mini-steemit" will create a healthy competition for steemit which will in turn bring a great improvement to steemit.

Just yesterday @ned put up a post advertising for software engineers to apply to work with Steemit. I think we have already started seeing the positive impact of the EOS launch

I love the analysis you did. Very simple and straight to the point. Others will have the same challenge that steem has and for me, steem is gaining more popularity through offline activities like meetups and charity works. If more attention is paid to offline activities then steem will go far.

I like EOS,but the fact that 90% of tokens holds few people makes me sick.

I don't see it being a binary choice for content creators. I believe content creators will be able to 'cross-post' and open up the pool of rewards and tokens available to them. I believe their will be 'aggregation sites' that enable this; it will be the norm to post on these aggregators and for token holders in those communities to decide if/ how to reward posters.

I've heard cross-posting discussed before. An aggregator site like that with a killer UI might prove very popular.

Good article, Resteemed. Not concerned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82