A present wrapped in a ribbon - Task 4 of Sndbox Summer Camp: Travel, Food & Homesteading QUEST 1

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail



I made it to the final compilation post for the Sndbox summer camp quest! Yah!!!!




I have to admit it was quite daunting when I first heard of this challenge, but after a couple of days when it all sank in, it wasn't that bad. Though I wasn't sure if I would make it to the end, and here I am. So without further ado, here's a summary of my tasks:

Task 1 - Challenge Yourself
Unlike writing my other posts, I didn't have much of plan here other than to split it between my travels before Steemit and my journey after joining Steemit. Travel and journey are similar words, yet here I have taken it to mean me physically going to different places before Steemit. Whilst post Steemit, is how my life has changed without me necessarily physically going anywhere. I want my journey to continue on Steemit, and Sndbox is one of the stops I want to make.

Task 2 - The things I do for Steemit
Ok, that title was a bit of a joke! Actually Steemit, @guyfawkes4-20 and @anomadsoul have done me a favour by pushing me into new territories. So thanks for that guys! This was the task that I was most concerned with, mainly because I've never done a vlog before and wasn't sure if I had the correct apps to edit it properly. I'm not very good with reading instructions, usually I just dive into an app, hoping that if I click some buttons it will do whatever I want it to do. Sadly, that's not always the case, that's why my video is erhhh... In order to redeem myself, I've done another shorter one for this post. I'm at home today so I hopefully the sound quality will be a bit better, but I really do hate my voice. Do you all feel the same when you do vlogs? Or is it just me?

Task 3 - Takeaway a post
The brief here was analyse a post from the few authors suggested. There were 4 for travel of which 2 I'm familiar with so I figured I'd choose someone that I didn't know. These are all existing Sndbox members so you're not going to get rubbish posts, yet I didn't want to do a cross the T's and dot the I's exercise as this isn't an English language challenge. In fact the Chinese has a phrase for this "trying to pick a bone from an egg". My focus was on how a post can catch a reader's attention which is very important given that there are thousands of posts each day. The other thing is how to make your readers remember something about your post - the takeaway - instead of just reading it, close it and forget all about it.

I'm going to keep this final post short and sweet as I know the judges will have plenty to go through, so I'm going to wrap it up with a ribbon and present you with my second video. Thanks for reading everyone and please wish me good luck with my quest!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Your article is well written, and I will continue to pay attention to you. I want to ask you how to do this steemit? What do you do to make your steemit get such a high income? I sincerely invite you to learn. We can make good friends, are here to help each other. Look forward to your reply, thank you!

The first golden rule is do not spam people's post with the same comment. It is difficult when you are starting out, but don't make it more difficult for yourself by not being sincere. Once you put yourself in the spammers group it is difficult to get out, I see you have been flagged already.

Hey hey, it's cool to hear your voice here on Dlive. You are right we tend to hate our own voices while it doesn't sound so bad to others. ;) I also like your point that "my life has changed without me necessarily physically going anywhere." Look forward to more of your travel stories.

Thanks!

How come you didn't do the quest? It would be perfect to help you move along. You still have time!

Awesome you even made another video for the compilation. Looks like the challenge has really pushed you to new territories like vlogging. I think you will do really well in vlogging because you speak really clearly and calmly as well ( I speak too fast!). The editing and other technicalities will follow.

Good luck on the quest and see you around Steemit and the discord :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51