Beer Festival in Taiwan 台中啤酒節

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail

Happy Monday everyone!! This weekend I went to a Beer Festival in Taichung, Taiwan. It was held at the old Beer Brewery which has now been converted to a cultural and arts complex. This is an annual festival and is the second year it's been held. It's a small festival as this is Taiwan, and we're a small city here, but there were quite a few a few local craft beer producers as well as importers who were selling overseas craft beer.

這個週末我去了台中舊酒廠的啤酒盛典。 啤酒節規模不算大,但今年已是第二屆舉辦。有不少本地精釀啤酒生產商參展。 我(其實是老公,因為我喝一瓶啤酒後已帶點醉意)在現場試了不同國家的啤酒,包括來自英國,星加坡和美國。還試了兩種台灣本地精釀手工啤酒。 對我來說,我覺得整晚最大收穫是發現這一家由南非及英國人創辦的本地製作香腸攤檔。 好好吃!! 大家看看我的視頻,到現場感受一下台中啤酒節的氣氛吧!

Beer01.jpg

I was meeting with my friend as her boyfriend has a stand here, so while I was waiting for her to arrive, I decided to check out the other stalls. First up of course, is a British stand - Imperial Pint, always nice to chat to fellow Brit in Taiwan.
Beer02.jpg

Brian, the owner then recommended me to check out Brewlander from Singapore so I though I'd start a chain and get each store owner to recommend me the next one. By the way it's Brewlander not Wonderbrew which is what I said in the video!!!
Beer03.jpg

Brewlander then recommended Pirate Life from Mikkell, an import from US, and 55th Street a local craft beer next door to him. Mikkell was a lot busier so I thought I'd head over there.
Beer04.jpg

After hubby finished chatting with the pretty girl at Mikkell she recommended 55th Street again! If two stalls both recommended it, then I think we really should head over there. Pretty Girl even walked over with us and introduced us to him. We tried Amber which has a hint of lovely dried longan aroma but did not come across as stickly sweet at all. Hubby was very impressed!

By this time my friend had arrived, so we headed over to Three Giants which is a local craft beer brewery run by her boyfriend. We (or rather hubby did, as I was a bit tipsy already) had a few more drinks whilst I wandered off to get some food.
Beer06.jpg

Boyfriend recommended Sausage Shack, which does homemade sausages made by a South African and a Brit. Here's the Brit, a Yorkshireman and had another good old natter with him. Usually local made sausages are a bit too sweet and doesn't have the right texture, but these ones were nice, very authentic. I think its my find of the night.
Beer07.jpg

If you haven't yet, please check out my video, where I take you around the festival. I have to apologise in advance if my sudden appearance scared you as I wasn't looking the best in the hot summer evening! Cheers!

Check out all my travel posts here or visit Steemit Worldmap

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

The Amber Ale looks tempting :-)

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

It was certainly quite different, but in a nice way

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=livinguktaiwan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=afc9fd10-6231-11e8-b143-ffce16c65548


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

手工啤酒真心唔錯,值得一試👍🏻👍🏻

有很多真不錯喔!照片中的美女跟我們說香港的英雄也很好。

Loved your video...and seeing you in it was the best part! I'm not a beer drinker, but those sausages sound delicious! Tip!

I miss proper sausages here as locally made ones just don't have the right texture, so glad I found this stall.

Sausage is all about texture, isn't it? Many German immigrants settled this area, including my great grandfather who owned a butcher shop, in the mid 1800's, so there is a tradition of decent sausage here. Im glad you found that stall, too!

I certainly will be buying from them again!!

Hi @livinguktaiwan! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

This looks like a lot of fun. I love craft beer. And I cannot wait to get back to Taiwan.

Were you travelling through Taiwan previously?

I was in Taiwan in 2016. Loved it.

所以通常我們都負責吃,老公都負責喝~ XD
這應該要叫@aaronli來啊!

跟我們一樣!

大家好像都差不多!! XD

Looks like fun. Taiwan is a great place to eat. There was an ice cream store in Taipei that was selling beer flavoured ice cream and other weird flavours.

The ice cream flavors are getting very creative now, I even saw a kimchi one! So given a choice I think I'll stick with beer!

Looks like fun! So Taiwan is undergoing a craft beer boom too? Now Asia can join the Americans by growing beer bellies!

It must have been difficult to decide which ones to try, apart from your friends' recommendations.

I noticed the $ price tag. What is that equivalent to? Like the sausages were$150!

One USD is NTD30, NTD150 was the hot dog price, a bit pricey I know, even for US standards!!

Taiwan has always been big on hand craft stuff of all sorts, particularly food so yeah, the local craft beer is growing, but beer drinking is still slowly picking up, think people still like their bubble tea more!!

I love beer that's great you share here this festival in Taiwan!!!

Glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91