My First Time Eating Maple Taffy! A Sweet Treat From Canada!

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

When I travel, I love to hang out with the locals, because they know all of the cool and unique places and foods to try. I've really enjoyed spending time exploring Canada with @teamsteem. One of the fun treats he had me try is maple taffy aka tire dérable (in French).

IMG_6696.JPG

Maple taffy is really sweet and delicious. I also thought the process of how they serve this sweet treat is quiet neat. You put the maple taffy on ice, and then you roll it in the snow! Watch the video to see how it is done.

Fun Fact: Did you know that Canada is known for it's maple syrup and it supplies 71% of the world's pure maple syrup.

IMG_6690.JPG

When you boil maple sap at different temperatures, it creates different consistencies with the maple. You can make maple butter, maple syrup, maple taffy and more.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy my @dlive video!

Thanks for watching. What fun treats have you tried? Let me know in the comments below.



IMG_6703.JPG
If you want to support my art, please check out my coloring book for adults called "Life of the Wild" on Amazon
love,
Karen

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

Thankuuu for the fun fact! I didn't know how flavor was affected either! :3 And oooooo watching you roll the maple taffy made my mouth water! AAA

I know! I didn’t know either! Yea I want another maple taffy now 😂

Traveling = learning, good food, and many laughs with great people!~

Same!!!! I spent 8 hours today with a local Indonesian and I couldn't have possibly asked for a better day. I made my first dlive video about it but I accidentally made it look like I'm in love with my friend haha.

I've never had maple taffy but oh man I want some! 3 am in steemit again btw haha

OMG! I'll have to check it out! :)

Lol remember how I said I pray comments then edit them? You'll have to read my updated version of what I just wrote haha 🤦🏻‍♀️ sorry to be so complicated lol

ahahhaha! OMG You are so cute! :) 3 am... story of my life. I was staying up that late everyday in Canada too! hehe.

At least you were having fun!

I am so glad you are enjoying Canada.I am Canadian, I live in the province of Ontario in the extreme southern part near Lake Erie.We are known as Norfolk County Ontario's Garden.We have over 200 diverse crops from apples to zucchini.My favorite maple treat is the syrup. it goes great with vanilla ice cream.Here in Norfolk, we tap our trees also to get that special sap.t is widely used on pancakes which there are a few pancakes festives that happen during the season.

Ohhh I never thought to try it with ice cream! That sounds like a great idea!

I love how happy you seem that you can try all that goodness! :) Thanks for the video!

Hehehe! Mmm it was so good!

That is so cool! I had never heard of maple taffy even though I spent a lot of time up in Canada before I moved to Colorado. (Maybe I was too far west, in BC.)

Looks great! And what a cool day you had with @teamsteem! This feels like a sweet connection with a very lasting bond you've made with your Montreal friends. Birds of a feather!

Hehehe! Yea the friends on Steemit are awesome! ❤️❤️❤️ Thanks for stopping by.

hmm maybe yummy :)

Thats like the thing done to crude oil, think its fractional distillation. You guys look amazing, if you ever come to Nigeria, I'll make you unconciously marry me with our weird traditions and practice 😂

Ahahaha oh nooo 😆

I have to try this one out when I visit Canada but that will take some more years haha glad you like the maple taffy :)

Maple toffee is one of my fave things. When I lived in St.Michel des Saints we had it all the time. Soooo good.

Mmmm! I wish they had this in the states!

That sound so nice, I really want to go to Canada. I have met so many nice people from Canada on my travels in asia so I have thougt That I have to go there some day and then I would definitly try that maple stuff, thanks for charing 🌺☮️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59181.56
ETH 2521.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47