Are Screenwriters Banging their Heads Against a Brick Wall?

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

The odds of a screenwriter's script being produced are massively long! So, why do so many of us want to be screenwriters?

My Biography - I’m at best a journeyman character-actor who’s had the good fortune to work in film, television and on stage with some of the biggest names in the entertainment industry, people the likes of Colin Farrell, Regina King, Judd Hirsch, Al Pacino, Vivica A. Fox, Harvey Keitel, Jackie Chan and Chris Rock to name a few. To see more simply google me.

P.S. Sorry for the over exposure near the end of the video. The damn sun wouldn't stay put! Arrgh!

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I write because I want my ideas - at the very least - to be put down somewhere on something. Also, IP is the greatest commodity in the industry, and as frustrating as it is to get discovered, it's probably better than playing the lottery. :)

Personally, I like the idea of sharing screenplays and prose on Steem and building an audience so that eventually all those ideas I have can be funded with the help of the community.

Sir @brian-rhodes this lines of @distantsignal makes a whole lot of sense to me in that it brings out the best of individual and creative minds in them. And on the second thought I really would like to be part of this in the steem blockchain because i want to learn.

We have a lot of talents down here that needs to be harnessed.

I also have a little question which i need clarity on, When will the first steem sponsored movie hit the airwave and what is likely to be the movie title? This might be out of the subject matter nevertheless, consider it sir.

Thanks..

Well, you're part of the blockchain now! :)

I believe Brian here might be producing the first Steem powered feature. I'm going to be producing a short here on Steem soon #changelings. Check it out.

Welcome to Steem!

Thats great i wil check out..

Agree. I shared my feature film on steemit in installments.

I write for fun. I try to learn about filmmaking too. I also try to meet creative people with whom I can exchange help on projects, knowledge, and experience.

I always have that image in my mind that working for million dollar platforms will have your work destroyed in a blink of an eye. But I also understand that a script for a film is not your first draft, that is just the beginning because of all the arts involved in telling the story.

But getting stuck because of finance is proving that money speaks louder than words. But don't we do the opposite writing?

Peace and blessings!

You’re writing for fun! Fantastic because that’s really the excitement in it for most of us. But there is a structure to screenwriting. It’s there not only for its own sake but it’s there to help you develop and bring out the story in such a way that it will be appreciated by an audience told through film. I found reading “Save the Cat” by Blake Snyder was a simple book that put it all together for me. A friend of mine said I should read it because Paul Haggis - Million Dollar Baby - advised him to read it. Stay in touch!

I normally base my structures on the 8 point arc. It is straightforward for me when writing short stories. I guess that in longer stories you can loop that into a substructure of a main 8 point arc to make characters grow.

I know there is also the type of narration to have in mind when setting it all up. Anyway, I love to learn and apply all those things!

Thanks for the suggestion! I going to look for that book. I'll get back to you once I've read it! One I still read is "Story" from Robert Mckee. It really inspires me to not forget what is important telling a story!

Peace and Blessings!
Peace and Blessing

Watts’ ‘Eight Point Arc’ and the the Greek ‘three act play’ are often the basis of the approach to writing a novel, I think. I’ve had little or no experience in the former. So don’t Left me lead you astray if it’s a novel you wish to write. ‘Save the Cat’ is all about screenplay and films!

hope you can help teach me how to make a movie script for me sir @brian-rhodes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81