A Parent's Worst Nightmare

in #dlive6 years ago

Thumbnail

When I released my concept album about dreams in 2011, "Deeper Into Dream", I wanted to explore the relationship to our unconscious in a few comedic short films.

I asked my friend, comedian Margaret Cho to write something for me that explored the idea of nightmares. She came back with a script entitled "Toddlaz 4 Life". It was horrific, absurd and kinda hilarious.

The short film was directed by my wife @ioneskye and stars myself, Margaret as my therapist, and Kim Stodel as "Goldie".

Enjoy - try your best not to be disturbed :)

@benleemusic

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

I have no idea what just happened or what I just watched or where I am, but I liked it. I would imagine this is the kind of script you could only write whilst suffering from the effects of a really bad fever, haha.

I lost it when Goldie walks in, and you say, "Are you hungover, did you do a poo poo?" the offputting up close face shots were also a nice touch. This offbeat style of humour is really right up my alley (or should I say nappy?).

Have you ever seen the Eric Andre show? It's Eric Andre essentially messing with his guests physically and mentally, but it's hilarious. If not, you should go onto YouTube and binge some of his beds, very offbeat humour but I think you would like it.

Aside: it is really great to see you on Steemit @benleemusic at first I wasn't sure if it wasn't really you at first, but after checking out this short, it's clear you're the real Ben Lee, instant follow. I've been a huge fan of your music for years and it's also great to have another Aussie on here as well.

Nice to meet you. Yes it is me, and yes I think our short influenced Eric Andre ;)

Love the shot of how Goldie came onto the scene... Crack me up!!
It's rather wacky.

Margaret is a very convincing therapist... :)

Oscar worthy performances!

that was pretty funny :-)

How exquisitely unsettling.

Brilliant way to express it.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Congratulations @benleemusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You've made my day!

Too funny you have to keep doing this kind of videos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73