You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DLive is joining the Lino blockchain, moving away from Steem

in #dlive6 years ago

The ROI is Curation rewards, that's what the structure is designed as. If people don't hold Steem they are forced to stop interacting with the community. If investors want an ROI, they have a duty to use their stake for the benefit of everyone, more or less, any other behavior will only disadvantage the community which will lead to a worthless token. You cannot evade that inconvenient fact, if you are an investor and don't use your stake then it's only speculation and ultimately you will exit the market, so any such investors will devalue the token.

Sort:  

Yes, I really can understand your point and it is the investors responsibility to do the best for this platform in order to make it a success. But still in my opinion it ultimatley comes down to why did Dan Larimer implemented self-voting? I'm not quite sure about that but as long the users can use that method they probably will. So who you wanna blame for this situation the investor who is using his tools or the Developer who created it? I'm personaly not a fan of self-voting I only do it for my own posts which I want to be seen. But I also delegate half of my SP to bots and the other half I use for curation. I might be a "small" investor but still I using some of the ROI tools that Steem offers and thats also part of it why I think Steem is great for generating passive income.

Posted using Partiko Android

He implemented "self-voting" because it makes it really easy to spot abuse, otherwise people would have alt accounts which they would vote with. The same reason why he implemented a logarithmic curve, so it dissuades people from splitting up their stake and make it seem as if they've acquired a following when it's only a bunch of their alts self-voting.

The blame isn't on who makes the rifles, ever. The blame is always on who uses the rifles for evil.

On that point let's consider exactly how you care about your investment apart from the ecosystem which gives your investment value when you use your investment to figuratively shot yourself in the foot. This passive income comes with a price you are happy others are paying for, by directly devaluing the function of Curation and then by enriching others who have the same short sighted mentally like yourself. It's probably falling on deaf ears so I'll leave it at this: your passive income only works because others still value curation, otherwise were everyone to do as you, there would quickly be no reason to invest in a pyramid ponzi scheme.

Lol, I just said that I'm not posting with the reason of self-voting or whatever. If you look at my posts I do deliver quality but if you just wanna bash me thats fine...I don't care. I'm involved even in a local steem meetup group so don't blame me for the things that others are abusing this System. I'm just saying that users like hajin who really don't vote for others are only looking for short term ROI and they still can do it. So Steem should think about some kind of system where even guys like him can get their needs satisfied without posting garbage. But only complain about this people and try to talk moraly wont help anybody here. We need working systems were everybody ia happy and fits into his role.

Posted using Partiko Android

Making everyone happy will lead to making most miserable. Ultimately some derive happiness from others misery, how many are you willing to make miserable to appease them?

If you think I bashed you for vote selling because you're not "all bad" you missed the point. I don't care how much you post and if you don't self vote, if you use your stake to the detriment of the majority, or by selling votes through a proxy, then why should I approve that?

Because not everything is just black and white. Bots do have an important role to play for people who use them wisely. If you want make your good quality post (maybe you have developed an App or Project that needs attention) than you can spent money on Bots to promote your post. That is not a bad thing and if people like me delegate to a Bot I'm loosing out on curation profit. Therefore the Bot pays me some Steem out. And you should also think about whales with 100K SP. If they want to curate their power to 100+ people a day thats not possible. Thats why they need the curation made automatically with a Bot.

Posted using Partiko Android

There is already a promote feature which consequently increases the overall value of SBD and STEEM and doesn't conversely devalue the function of Curation.

The part about whales not being able to use their stake is in stark contrast to the reality of delegation, which again invalidates such short sighted mentally.

Ultimately bots are great for only a few things: upvoting malicious flags thus nullifying the abuse, and downvoting any and all accounts that have demonstrated that they don't care for Curation, aka bidbots, and thus nullifying the abuse, and lastly, bots are great when they are used to detect or determine spam and plagiarism.

The problem is that you don't consider that by devaluing the function of Curation by vote selling you are devaluing the inherent value of the platform, or to reward others. If everyone delegated to bid bots there wouldn't be a community anymore, and you cannot escape that simple inconvenient truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52