Opinion | Do You Have a Moral Duty to Leave Facebook? - The New York Times

in #dlike6 years ago

share-with-dlike.jpg

Do you continue to fb? What's your thoughts on this?

Leaving has been on my mind a bunch lately. But, having contact with the community is such a good thing. 

SMT's are going to be huge in this and perhaps we will see mass adoption into 2020! Take that agenda 21! 💗🎶✌

The platform has been used to disrupt elections, disseminate propaganda and promote hate. Regular users should ask if they are implicated in these failings.


Source of shared Link

Sort:  

I was never really into Facebook in the first place. The only reason I even got an account was because I was doing some online marketing at that time. Now I probably use it once or twice a month. And yes I feel a moral duty, not  to  use it, not just because of what they knowingly did in the election. But because they are making tons of money off of our data. I will never go back. Especially now that I discovered Steemit!

Done, facebook is the biggest waste of time all I use it for now is to get exposure on my own stuff which eats up little to no time at all on my part

I probably do but it is hard since all my family is still on there and they do not think about these things.  Other than my son, none are into crypto at all.  Steemit is not on their radar yet.

I do not use facebook much.  It is for old people.  My mum likes it since she can stay in touch with her old friends.

i do both. sometimes cross post also. i keep in touch with family there. I feel like i am not being watched here. i hope that is true.

My approach to leave FB has been a gradual one. First the announcement of my intention, so as to give FB Friends a heads up.

For the next 4 months or so there was a selective unfriending with those on my friends' list. The criteria was generally to trim it down to RL friends and family with some cyber friend exceptions with those that a real connection had been felt. Then at the end of that time a meme of mine was reported and FB sent me to the cloakroom.

Three months went by before attempting to login again. It only took 15 minutes to become involved in a mini flame war.

That experience solidified my decision that the time had come. This is week one of a 30 day account deletion process on FB for me. Three more week before there's no looking back. Three more weeks until the STEEM Blockchain will truly be my social media home.

STEEM On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01