Let DJs Do Their Job! (Stop Telling the DJ What To Play)

in #dj6 years ago (edited)

28165147_10155187920162793_6807367211639219381_o.jpg

Imagine this scenario. You're by the beach, the sun is setting, you're having a good time and nothing can get in your way. Then some drunk idiot comes up to you and says to you really loudly in your ear that you need to get up and dance. Your vibe is killed, and you feel like moving somewhere else. This same scenario can play out similarly if you were playing music by the beach for example, or anywhere for that matter. You're playing some cool Caribbean or South American riddims (beats or instrumentals in Jamaican Patois), then some drunk idiot comes up to you and says really loudly in your ear that he wants you to make him dance! What the hell? It's only 9pm, I'm just getting people warmed up for the rest of the night. This drunk idiot started drinking at three in the afternoon, other people in the bar have just started drinking (as have I), he should have some consideration for the twenty other people around him.

39095622_10155574214717793_768221189414846464_o.jpg

This situation has just recently happened to me just two weekends ago. Unfortunately the drunk idiot was a colleague of mine, and I know better now not to invite him for anymore events because he can't control his alcohol. Another annoying situation is when a bar manager is in your ear every two songs telling you what to play because "the crowd isn't dancing." It feels like taking one step forward, and two steps back, because you can't get your flow going. I never tell the bar manager that he's pouring too much tequila in the margarita or that there's there isn't enough ice in the mojito. Let us do our job!

You see, DJ-ing is like telling a story or exercising. There are about fifteen to thirty minutes of introduction or warm up, then there is a little bit of build up. At around the times of 11pm to midnight (depending on the type of venue or event, sometimes earlier, like the sunset boat parties that I play for) we get the crowd moving after they have had a few drinks in their systems and are ready to dance. Then eventually there is the cool down for when the bar is ready to close. In between there are a few short cool downs to let people have a break, buy a beer, go to the bathroom (myself included), and so on.

31945108_10155361248197793_8326695049995747328_o.jpg

I think the idea of so-called EDM (a topic I could possibly rant about at another time) has given people the misconception that DJ-ing means hard-pumping, sweaty music from start to finish. Guess what? You've been fooled by their marketing if you think so. Do you really think that DJs will play hard music at 1pm when the festival gates just opened? No, they will probably get some unknown local DJs to play some Trip-Hop or lounge-y House music at the beginning, then some better known local DJs to play from the evening until night time, and finally the headliners will play "Boom! Boom! Throw your fuckin' hands up!" music late at night.

Another thing we should take into consideration is that newer DJs who have only been in the scene for a few years don't really know all their songs very well like to curate and tailor their playlists for each particular event and set their cue points, practice a few times before hand, picking out songs they deem fit for that particular night at least a couple of weeks before hand, as opposed to more experienced DJs who have been playing music professionally for over twenty years and know their music library well enough to walk into any show and freestyle whatever music they see the crowd would enjoy at that particular moment. For the newer and younger DJs who are probably a little anxious, and already have the night planned for you, and then in the middle of the night, when they are about to drop the baddest beat for you, then you go up to him/her, and say, "excuse me, it's my wife's birthday, can you play her a ballad?" Fuck no! Wait til the end of the night when the music is slow again, and maybe you can have your ballad.

24300955_10154988397332793_4522896609945822051_n.jpg

I think that's all I wanted to say. I know a lot of DJs go through this on a regular basis and know how to respond to requests and as well as drunk idiots. For my brothers and sisters who go through this every single night at the bar or club that you are a resident DJ for, please drop a comment and let me know if there is anything missing, or if there is any stories you would like to share :) (Always remember to have consideration for others!) One Love!

Sort:  

😁🙇🏼‍♂️

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah man, respect the DJ. I never approach DJs, even when it's a friend. Plus what if I bumped their tables by accident? Stay away from the DJ!

Someone knocked my laptop off the table once.. Good thing it was still functional and music kept in playing!

Posted using Partiko Android

I will now and forever stop my drunken friends from ever requesting a song to DJs

Yes man, I know how that feel. I remember last time that happened to me:

Drunk girl: Hi, can you play "despacito".
Me: Sorry, I dont have that tune.
DG: But you have computer, you can find it on youtube.
Me: But I don´t have wireless connection
DG: I can find it on my mobile phone.
Me: I can´t play it from your phone, I dont have the cable to plug it.
DG: Yes you can, I have a cable to plug my mobile to your mixer.
Me: ......shit

Hahaha, just say, "I don't know what that is" and look away next time 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been pretty fortunate that I haven't had to deal with this situation all that much recently, but man oh man, I've been there and feel for you good sir.

EDM I think has definitely has been a huge problem in giving people the wrong impression of what a DJ should be. People who are generally just trying to run a business, couldn't care less about music, and are only concerned about make sure the drinks are flowing constantly are the ones that seem most keen on booking EDM DJs. And my reasoning behind this is a bit like the genre itself: the results are right there, right in everyone's faces, and there isn't a hint of subtly to it. Thusly, anyone who does show results right away -- at least to a venue owner/customer who doesn't care about music -- they feel like you, the DJ aren't doing their job, even if it is only 9 o'clock and the doors open 30 minutes ago. Thankfully EDM is all but dead around me and since I never go to any venues that play EDM, it's easy enough to avoid these days.

Just out of curiosity, what's the make up of the audience at the venues you usually play at? When I was DJing at a lot of foreign-run venues with a largely foreign customer base, I found I used to get a lot more shit (that was also ten years ago and truth be told, I probably sucked a lot more as a DJ back then). Since about 5 years ago, I started hanging with more of the local, Japanese DJs in my area and I've found them to be much more accepting of a wider ranger of music than the aforementioned group.

At any rate, sorry this message became a small novel. Don't let the bastards get you down, keep plugging away, here's hoping you get the love and respect that I think all DJs should deserve.

Yeah, haven't been DJing enough recently to have this problem as well. Also, I rarely DJ at bars where I don't know the owner. If the owner has trust in your music, he will let you play whatever you want (almost)! I live in Thailand, where if there is a Thai crowd, people don't dance, but they generally don't mind what you're playing, they just like to observe, drink, and talk with their friends. The expat crowd is a different story, however, again depending on the situation.

There is a large Japanese DJ community in Bangkok as well, and they have a wide range of music, and very professional DJs end up living here for 10-15+ years. I play for crowds of no more than 30-50 people generally, except the boat parties which are capped at 160 people. Time to rent a bigger boat!

I don't let it get me down, just will be expecting more of this when I decide to DJ full time next year! :D

Thanks for your vote and support always, @killuminatic! I miss Penang and Junk Cafe! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @djlethalskillz from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84