You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adding Solar power to my travel trailer

in #diy7 years ago

so currently what I have is a seperate AC network for house power that my inverter powers if I plug it in or I just plug in to generator power. I also have a trickle charger interconnected for topping off the battery bank if I'm on gennie power or I disconnect it if on inverter power. I dont have one of those charge controllers that auto deals with shore power like the ones Xantrex makes, I have a simpler charge controller that just handles solar and then another trickle charge controller in case I need to top off the battery bank. I'll post more articles about the trailer project as I've done alot of custom build outs in it that DIY people might find interesting. Give me a follow if you want to follow along. thanks!

Sort:  

Sounds like a good setup. It seems like you could also use it for getting clean power for sensitive electronics on the go. Solar power on a high quality inverter is probably pretty stable but I probably wouldn't want to run a laptop straight off a generator circuit.

I used to own a propane backup gen and I loved it. Quieter and cleaner than gasoline and you can stock up on tanks and store them for a long time. Plus propane is useful for so many other things.

yea the xantrex I have is prosine so its clean for sensitive electronics. I also have a yamaha EF2400i generator that provides clean power for electronics so really my power is clean no matter where its coming from. Solar direct to inverter isnt a great solution but with the battery bank I have alot of watt hours to play with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75