DIY - new life to an old chair, decorating kids room

in #diy7 years ago

As my short description says I am a fan of trying out new things, especially when it comes to crafts and DIY. so when you follow my blog you will see a whole lot of different types of crafts - I do crochet, sewing, painting, home decor , jewelry- basically anything I feel like trying at a certain point in time.
now - this post is about a chair, a makeover I did to a chair my grandmother gave me because she no longer needed it. I needed a chair for my sons' room and so this chair got a colourful makeover.

Untitled.png

I started with sanding the chair to remove the existing colour
IMG_2173.jpg

and removing the existing fabric from the pillows.
IMG_2127.jpg

replaced the fabric with some colourful owls and some light blue fabric for the second pillow and then painted the chair with acrylic paint - blue for the back, orange for the hands and I left the raw wood for the legs of the chair.
then came a coat of varnish to protect the colour and the wood.

This is the result. what do you think?
IMG_2272.JPG

IMG_2273 - Copy.JPG

IMG_2274.JPG

if you like this makeover you may also like
https://steemit.com/creativity/@tully/ikea-hack-easily-customise-your-kids-table-and-chairs

Sort:  

I love it! It's even cooler that it was your grandmothers!! 🦉 🦉

Thank you! I love that it was hers and we now use it every day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58