Ikea Hack - Easily Customise Your Kids table and chairs

in #creativity7 years ago

Want cool furniture for your kids room? super easy Ikea Hack.
IMG_4814.JPG

I spend a lot of my creative energy into making things that can be used around the house and I love making things for my kids. They really do appreciate it and my son gives the best compliments (yes, completely un-objective mom here!)

So my oldest needed a table to draw and his grandparents bought him the simple LATT table and 2 chairs.

IMG_2064.JPG

I wanted something with a bit more colour and so I set to work painting the table and chairs in a combination of turquoise, greyish blue and white.
I painted only the wooden parts of both table and chairs, leaving the MDF white (its also easy to clean when the kids paint all over it).
IMG_4815.JPG

for the chairs i went a bit further and padded the seat with 5 cm foam i had covered by some colourful fabric. it was relatively easy to do - i cut the foam to size, glued it to the MDF and then covered the seat with the fabric using a staple gun to secure the fabric in place at the bottom. The fabric made the assembly of the chairs a bit harder so i recommend not using fabric that is very thick because you want to seat to still fit into the grooves easily.

What do you think? will you try this one out?

IMG_2062.JPG

IMG_2063.JPG

Sort:  

Awesome idea.. Thanks for this lovely blog

Thank you! really glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63338.07
ETH 2589.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82