You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning a fridge into a Walk-in Cooler - Status Update 2

in #diy6 years ago

That must have been one of those projects where you measured twice, cut once so that the tension was just right! Very clever and really interesting. One day maybe I will be a homesteader, but I do what I can here at my apartment with my vermicomposting. Was not able to plant in my portable greenhouse on my stoop. The weather has been too crazy this year.

Sort:  

I do a shit ton of thinking out my projects. I am naturally an introvert so I spend a lot of time in my own head anyway, and when I get going on a project I spend a fair amount of time standing in a veritable daydream as I envision what I will be doing next. Luckily the wall planks did not need a single cut as they are all 73" tall and needed a 1 1/2" shim board under them to raise them to the correct level. A lot of things with this build have fallen into place with relative ease. Many of the supplies I have had on hand for other projects that have never been done.

This is one of the few builds I have done that could be accomplished in an apartment. A person could build a box of 4 sides in the fashion I have for the cooler box. Only the box will be 3 sides and a roof. The sides can all attach individually or be hinged to fold up into a flat-pack. This can then get setup in front of a fridge and be a "cool out room" in the vain of a "bug out room". When the heat gets to be just too damned much, you can set this up and bask in the cool of your fridge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62