Laser Musket Build #6 - Assessing the Current Situation

in #diy6 years ago (edited)


This is one where I run some tests, crunch some numbers and generally try to teach myself more about circuits and electricity. All puns absolutely intended.

If you want to support what I do:
https://www.patreon.com/ratstomper
https://www.makersupport.com/ratstomper

Other places you can find me:
https://gab.ai/Ratstomper
https://www.minds.com/Ratstomper


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

These are interesting projects. Glad to have you on the platform.

Thanks! Glad to be here!

how bout with led strips?

This is something I'm seriously considering. Some of the housing for the light source will probably be something like EVA foam, so heat is a concern. As I understand it, LEDs use less power and are more efficient, so less energy is wasted through loss as heat: sounds like a win-win to me. I'm currently also looking to see if I can feasibly use a laser diode to produce a light beam effect, but that's all still up in the air at the moment; it's all about what I can feasibly power with a hand cranked generator.

So all your post are linked to that bearing post right and we will see the final result that you described in that post. If thats the case am eager to see what's next.

Yep, until this build is complete, the video where I made the bearing and showed off what it will ultimately go into is the current project. I try to show the build process as I go with these sorts of videos. Once I've finished, I'll have a larger video that will show an abridged version of the whole build from start to finish.

I actually just finished putting the other fake "stator" together and I'm probably going to make some adjustments to it. My hope is to have the whole rotor assembly done and to some testing with magnets for the next video like this.

That would be awesome mate ..... waiting for the final results.

Thanks for sharing your exploratory path of circuitry with us! I especially appreciated the whiteboard lesson on circuits. This is a huge video and I'm really super glad to have you on the platform. I've seen your last 2 videos now and they're fascinating... can't wait to see it all get put together.

Well done!

Thanks! It's worth noting that it's all based on conjecture. I'm new to circuitry, so the circuit drawn on the whiteboard may not work. One of the things I try to do with these shop log videos is try to record the process of exploring these things as a layman and hopefully that will help teach others.

Congratulations @ratstomper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35