Easy Necklace Hanger DIY

in #diy5 years ago

Do you or a shopaholic loved one have too many necklaces and no idea what to do with them?
This DIY necklace holder was crafted in about 10 minutes from three simple materials that I had laying around the home. Well, the branch actually came from the backyard.

20190704_195302.jpg

It may not be the fanciest solution, but it was certainly the easiest. And the natural materials give it a very bohemian vibe that is popular these days.

For this craft you will need:

  • 1 yard of twine
  • 20+/- small framing nails
  • 1 wooden stick that is at least 1 inch in diameter, at whatever length you require for your necklace hanging needs
  • a hammer
  • a pencil

I chose a stick that didn't have excess branches. I also removed the top bark from the branch to give it a smooth look. You are welcome to use a wooden dowel, but I think the found stick has a nice, authentic, natural look to it that a purchased dowel would not. I used a 3 foot branch that came from a recent trimming of the ash tree in our backyard. The ends are sawed off for a clean look.

To make the hanger, all you will need to do is tie the twine to each side of the branch, double knotting the ends. Find the mid point of the twine and hold it by that point against a wall. Mark with a pencil on the branch where you will want your first, middle, and last nails.

Return the branch to your work surface. Hammer a nail in to the places marked with a pencil. From there, hammer in the remaining nails at even intervals. I placed about half an inch between my nails and used 20 of them.

When complete, hang by the midpoint of the twine and hang a necklace from each nail. Necklaces can be doubled, or even tripled on each nail.

Sort:  

I find it very appealing, that's quite creative. it will be very useful for me as I love wearing chains and now I don't have to entangle every time I want to wear them.
Keep flourishing.

I like this!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're right, it does have a bohemian vibe to it. I like it. It's simple but also quite nice. Cool idea!

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent idea

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30