Java Gel Stain DIY

in #diy6 years ago


I made some coffee stain.

Was done in a pressure cooker with water, coffee, sodium alginate, and a pinch of baking soda to prevent it from going funky.

I plan on using it in a layered effect on the desk I'm making I'll post more as it becomes available.

Minus the coffee this is pretty much how KY is made.

Was also a practice run on my video editor and using it.
Also there seems to be a 1GB upload limit


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Had no idea how that's done, interesting stuff man

It worked ok, It didn't stain too well though; I left it on for about 2 hours before wiping the residual off.
The commercial Java Gel stain isn't made any thing like this.
desk stained.jpg

I imagine that multiple coats would have been darker, but I didn't want to put too much moisture into the butcherblock, and was content with the way it came out.

It looks pretty damn good. Got a nice color on it and those patterns are pretty sick.

Thank you, some of that is prewiping on the wax to keep it from soaking into those areas I'll put the pin striping on today if I get the time.

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

Thanks for resteeming I didn't even notice sorry.

Sorry I'm still learning editing, the tripod is a squeeze clamp with a 1/4 [20] bolt and a hand screw nut.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99