DIY Aquaponics Build Log #2 6/27/2019

in #diy5 years ago

DIY Aquaponics Build Log #2 6/27/2019

I started by measuring my plywood cutouts for the proper length, and width I would need for the plywood support structure.

It measured out to be 55" in length.

I then put 2 2x4's along the length to measure the width between the two which turned out to be 24&1/4".

I measured out 2 lengths to cut at 55" with my miter saw.

I marked and cut 5 pieces at 24&1/4" for the width.

I squared the framed by measuring the diagonal to make sure the measurement matched and assembled it using 2&1/2" deck screws. I only used one screw in each board so it could move a little when I would fasten it to the 4x4 legs.

I used the frame as a template for where I would dig my holes. I gave myself 3' from the wall to the frame so there would be no issues walking around the tanks for maintenance. The stand off from the main fish tank is about 2.5'.

I placed (4) 8' treated 4x4" post in my holes to check out my alignment. I had a Lesson learned here. Instead of using the inner corners of the frame to mark my holes I should have used the outer corners to lay out the holes then widen the diameter of the holes for the proper alignment.

To help plum the legs I attached some old scrap 2x4's from the old greenhouse for cribbing.

At this point I needed an extra hand from my Dad to get everything plum and square.

I got inside to hold the frame up and checked level as Dad screwed it into the legs. I am completely soaked in sweat at this point.

I checked the level with a 4' bubble level along the length and width.

When it all looked good we put (2) 3" deck screws to each side to lock the frame in place. We had to back the screws out and adjust a couple times to get it right.

My drill ran out of batteries so I ended the work for the evening and will aim to get the tops of the legs cut tomorrow and the plywood cut outs attached to the structure. I'll also add some 45deg cut 2x4's to each leg to stiffen the structure.

In life news, I finally closed on the sale of my house yesterday! So excited to have that behind me to move forward toward my dreams of full time farming and building my homestead.

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future,
Greg Doud @makinstuff

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Good times! Go Vols !

Thank you brother, Roll Tide :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Followed for common interests and friendly rivalries 🍊

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol hell yeah! Killer set up mayne, watching your video right now! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Much appreciated, I'd definitely change some things, but hindsight is 20/20 and it's working so I'm not going to overhaul it just yet.

Are you in South Bama ? What's the plan for fall and winter if you're closer to that pride of the southland state to the north?

I look forward to seeing your project take off. Us aquaponicmen gotta stick together!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, Aquaponics is a learn by doing farming technique. Lots of things to learn I had several tough lessons so far losing most of my fish. I moved the system and starting back with around 15 tilapia I was able to transfer from my old system. My buddy @robbieolson is another diy aquaponics guy that mentored me. He will be releasing more content on his systems soon. I had pretty good success by insulating the ibc tote with that bubble foil reflectix material an old water bed heater in a single layer 6mil plastic Caterpillar tunnel greenhouse this winter. I'll be building a half hoop greenhouse for this system to keep everything warm this winter season and looking to experiment with a solar thermal battery to keep the water heated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome brother that all sounds good!

I have built me plenty of "oops houses" as we called them in Cali where I spent a decade growing the wacky baccy 😀

I went with catfish because them is good eating first and they're tough as nails. My main thing was not killing fish or breeding skeeters so in that light it's been a raging success.. My better half will sing a different tune about my "beer garden" I tinker with too much and looks too industrial lol.. Well honey, it's a hands on, can is half full in one hand, full can in the other steep learning curve.

I do need a less ghetto more efficient filtration system though, but that's gonna require some serious focus...

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome build post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you fine sir!

Posted using Partiko Android

I gotta say, it'll be interesting to see the tanks on the stand!
I'm glad to hear that the house sale finally closed! That's one less headache to stress about.

Congratulations @makinstuff! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @makinstuff!

You just got a 0.07% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48