Last-Minute Steampunk Goggles, Continued

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

See my previous post for how I started constructing my goggles. Here is the rest of the story so far...

20181025_191758.jpg

Since my plan involves spray paint, and my materials include foamcore, it was essential that I brush on a layer of paint as a primer coat to protect the foam from spray paint chemicals. I used cheap brown acrylic craft paint so anything I missed with the bronze spray paint would still blend in, especially inside the goggles.

20181026_111944.jpg

After applying some bronze metallic spray paint, I was ready for the rest of the structural components: elastic, two conduit end caps, and some circles cut from dollar store binder dividers for lenses.

Why the can of pork and beans? So I can bend some tin gears into a curved shape, obviously! I mean, it can't be more obvious than that, can it?

20181026_160021.jpg

And here it is! I may add more embellishments, but this worked out rather well. My plan now is to make a CAD model so a better version can be made on a 3D printer!

Sort:  

I love it! :D

Sorry I missed this last year...

Please reply to this, and I'll leave you my (meager) reward... ;)

😄😇😉

@creatr

I shall cheerfully reply, then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53