How to Make Necklaces, Part 3

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

In part 1 and part 2, I used chains to make necklaces. Other materials can be used instead, though. Leather cord, braided leather cord, or ribbon can be used to good effect.

20180713_013728.jpg

I like to use manufactured metal cord ends to finish these. Some prefer various methods of knotting and braiding instead. Ribbon ends are fairly self-explanatory. Place over end of ribbon. Pinch with pliers so it stays on. In this case, I used the bail that did not work with leather cord in this post.

20180713_013955.jpg

For leather, the cord ends are stamped from sheet metal and formed into a U shape. The ones I have on hand right now are too large for the cord I plan to use. I can clip them shorter and file the edge before folding them over the cord, or I can just overlap the excess metal. I elected to use the latter method today.

Some cord ends have a small spike or serrated edge to hold them in place. If not, a dab of glue like E-6000 can add a bit of security above basic compression.

20180713_015210.jpg

In this project, I have a length of brown braided leather cord, two cord ends, three jump rings, a lobster claw clasp, a bail, and an oak leaf pendant. I twisted the oak leaf shank so it would align with the orientation of the bail.

For assembly, don't forget to start with the bail and add the cord ends after. Otherwise, you may find yourself at an impasse halfway through. Don't ask how I discovered that...

20180713_030523.jpg

As for the cord ends, they need to be gently worked into a solid collar around the end of the cord with pliers. The tab with a hole can be bent into a better position, and then it's just a matter of adding jump rings and the clasp to finish the job.

20180713_031227.jpg

20180713_103138.jpg

20180713_103325.jpg

And there is the finished product: a leather cord choker necklace with an oak leaf pendant! Please comment below if I left any steps in this process unclear, and post pictures of your own jewelry projects!

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION - EDITION 19 post!

ALL proceeds and earnings of SBD will be paid out to the three steemians who have their posts featured!

I just love all of your jewelry. Whenever you post, I usually try to stop by and see what new creations you've made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89