How I re-use old guitar strings (wood laminate tool pt3)

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

In my last article I turned my laminate blank into a knife/scraper, in this video I turn the other side into a guitar string brush. When I change the strings on one of my guitars I cut up the old strings and use them as bristles in diy handtools. The strings are usually high quality stainless steel (or phosphor bronze coated steel) and make excellent brushes that I use to remove carbon fouling and rust from gun parts.

Thanks for watching!

Link to my previous article
https://steemit.com/woodworking/@gunsmithing/diy-wood-laminate-hand-tool-pt1

Sort:  

That is really cool and something I would have never thought to do!

You really have some great crafting skills :)

This is incredibly brilliant! I've been playing guitar for years, and never thought once about using my strings for another purpose.

Well, now I know why you drilled the hole in the end of the tool that you made in the last video. I was wondering about that.

very nice! And should work quite well for getting rid of carbon gunk

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gunsmithing from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65885.06
ETH 3440.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65