Outdoor Kitchen Build - Part 7 - Pallet Counter Tops

in #diy7 years ago

Here we go again! Part 7 of the Outdoor Kitchen Build! Today I'll show you how I built our counter tops using 100% recycled wood and old pallets! Links to all previous posts are at the end.

The Design


I wanted a corner work space, and one that was plenty big enough to serve us well no matter what we do; from canning to entertaining.

The shorter counter top is for our propane grill and canning burner to sit atop and be at a comfortable height to work with.


Framing and Legs


The framing and legs of the counter tops are treated 2x4s and recycled from previous projects. I began with measuring and cutting the pieces for the longer counter top which measures 8 feet wide and 2 feet deep. I cut two 8 foot boards and 5 21-inch boards for the frame. The legs were cut one-by-one as I measured them once the counter top frame was in place. The irregular ground dictated that they be cut-to-fit to maintain a level surface.


The wood looks worse in the photos than it really is. The dark coloring is where it was in contact with grass for a while and the grass died.

Pallet Counter Top


I've been saving a handful of pallets for a project. These pallets were big--about 8 feet long. I found them behind the local grocery store as they were doing renovations inside. The cash register stations were shipped on top of them as a unit.

My wife pried the top slats off and removed the nails while I lined the up on the counter frame and attached them with screws. After they were all attached, I scribed a straight line and trimmed them to final length with my circular saw from the 1960s. I then used another 2x4 board and attached it as a back-splash for the counter top.



Rinse and Repeat


It was the same process for building the smaller counter--frame, legs, top, backspash. The blade on my other saw became too dull to use, so I went BACK TO THE FUTURE and used my newer saw.


Grill Stand


By this time we had exhausted our matching pallets for making the counter tops and were out of 2x4s. To prevent from having to buy lumber for the project, I used an old table I built many years back for the grill stand. I trimmed the legs to sit level and added a 2x4 to the right side to attach the table to the legs of the other counter. This locked everything in very tight.

The Grand Reveal


And here you go! We realized that the canning burner would not work on top of a table, so we modified our original plans to fit. I think it turned out pretty awesome... and it was all free!

What do you think? We picked up a double stainless sink at a yard sale yesterday and will be working on adding that in shortly, along with other things. Be sure to stay tuned!

Smash that Upvote!


It is greatly appreciated and let's me know you like what I'm doing. Thanks!


See you in the comments below, and on the next post!

Until next time, @greenacrehome

Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Looking good man! Really coming along and I was pleasantly surprised at how well the pallets got repurposed. Gonna be a BBQ dream come true. And with the garden just over yonder.... I see where you're going with this.... Brilliant.

Oh yeah! It's the place to be for canning... OUTSIDE! Tired of paying to cool down the house from canning on the stove. :-) At first, the pallets really bothered my OCD for nice, new wood. But I've grown to like them and it turned out good.

It looks great man, my only thought was that you might laaaaaater want to consider ferrocement as a final project. you could shape it anyway you like, make it artsy and if the wood is still good('ish) you can use that for making forms, or just use chicken wire and multiple coats of cement slip, like plaster. Just another random thought from across the internet. But it could make a neat article for next Spring ;)

I'll have to check into that, it sounds cool!

Cool. Are you planning to varnish/paint? Have you check that the would is ok to be in contact with food? Should be - but worth checking, some can be toxic.

For now, we're going to leave the wood as-is.. raw and unfinished. Most of it is pine. I have no idea if it's food safe for not, but it won't be used like a traditional counter top in a home. It's a work surface for doing things outdoors and is treated as such. Thanks

Can't beat free! Now that it's done, do you think you will have to go back and brace the legs?

I don't think so. We pinned the legs to the ground with 1/2 inch rebar, so they're pretty solid. Now, given they won't stand a direct hit... but for now, they're good. This will likely get re-built if/when I ever get to pouring a concrete pad.

woohoo! I LOVE pallet projects! My husband has been accumulating some nice ones from work. We're going to get started on some projects really soon. :)

Nice ones are hard to find in our area. I've been sitting on two Oak pallets for a while, but not had much time to think on a "pretty" project for them yet. LOL

That looks like it will be a good canning kitchen and workspace. I've been using one of those big propane burners on legs for a lot of my canning for several years, but I don't have a workspace like that. Last year, I was using one of those folding leg tables for workspace. Not real sturdy, but it did the job well enough. I'm hoping to upgrade a bit this year.

So far it's been helpful, even with just the counter tops. We got our burner last year. It's amazing the difference it's made in our canning speed and experience... of not having it in the house! So glad we got it, should have got one years ago.

Awesome!! It came out really good. I've not seen pallets reused this way - great idea.

I admit, my OCD-tendencies didn't like them, but it did work out pretty good. The more I built with the pallets, the more it felt like it was "right" and fit together. Thanks!

That's great, and something I could actually do! I even have the space...now you have my wheels turning for sure. Thanks for the tutorial!

Awesome! If you do it, post back so we can check it out! Yay!

I will certainly do that! I will have to start collecting pallets and do some measuring tonsee if it's a possibility!

This post has received a 3.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @greenacrehome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50