DIY Sheep Hauler

in #diy7 years ago (edited)

We picked up our first homestead livestock this past weekend and I needed a way of getting them home safe and sound. And thus... the DIY Sheep Hauler was born! Made completely from materials and items we had on hand already, I was able to build this in a few hours. Here's a step-by-step guide.

Step 1: Measure the Truck Bed


Since our sheep are smaller, and we only purchased two, I left my truck toolbox in the bed. I measured the length and width of the enclosure to build. The outside dimensions were 60 inches long and 53 inches wide and 24 inches tall.

Step 2: Material List


For this design, I needed the following boards:

  • (6) 60" - Side Rails
  • (11) 22" - Uprights
  • (4) 53" - Cross Bars
  • (3) 44" - Door Cross Bars

I also use the following miscellaneous hardware and materials:

  • (6) Clamps to attach to truck bed
  • (15 feet) Welded Wire Fencing
  • Wire Staples
  • 1 5/8" Wood Screws
  • (2) Hinges
  • Metal Roofing
  • Metal Roofing Screws (hex head with washers)

Step 3: Cut and Assemble the Sides


To make the cutting easier, and ensure all my boards were the same, I clamped them together and cut in bulk when possible. This saved the time of measuring and marking each board individually and gave a more precise cut.

The sides are built like a ladder; two 60" top/bottom boards with four 22" vertical slats. I pre-drilled the holes in the boards before attaching. Thinner material, like this 3/4 inch wood, is very prone to split and crack.

Step 4: Attach the Sides to Truck


I used wood clamps to attach the sides to the truck. They were very strong and held the hauler in place without any issues, while still making it easy to remove and not damaging my truck.

Step 5: Install the Cross Bars


Next I installed the top cross bars to tie the two sides together. These cross bars are 53 inches long.

Step 6: Door Framing


I used a simple design for the back door. It's basically a flat ladder type structure. The lower board is longer than the top so that it would not swing inside of the hauler. It also served as an attachment point for closing up the hauler. In the below photo, you can also see that I added a second cross bar to the front to serve as a stronger barrier for the sheep.

Step 7: Fencing and More Cross Bars


We then wrapped the outside of the hauler in welded wire fencing and attached it to the boards with electrical wire staples. I then added another cross bar to the sides of the hauler to keep the sheep from pushing the fence outwards. The fence is one piece; going from one back corner to the other.

Step 8: Roofing and Done!


Finally, I cut an old sheet of metal roofing into two 4 foot lengths and screwed it to the top of the hauler. This served as a secure closure for the top and as a shade structure for the sheep from the sun and rain.

Trial by Fire!


Right after building this hauler, it was time to hit the road to pickup our sheep. Nothing like putting it to the test right away! I tossed a few extra tools and items into my truck tool box just-in-case, and took off. The ONLY issue we had was the constant high winds popped the roofing off of the front few screws. I quickly fixed it with a few ratchet tie down straps. Roofing aside, there were no other issues with the hauler on the five hour road trip! Hooray!


Wait, Where's the Sheep?!

That's coming up in the next post. They deserve their own spotlight. Stay tuned!



See you in the comments below, and on the next post!

Until next time, @greenacrehome


http://SteemitHomesteaders.slack.com

Learn About SteemitHomesteaders Here!
Sort:  

I'm so excited you guys finally got your sheep! And they are adorable, loved seeing the picture in the SteemitHomesteaders Slack channel :) And that's a really good idea for a hauler, I never thought of anything other than a trailer of some sort!

I'll have more cuddly sheep photos than should be allowed by law on their intro post tomorrow. :-)

You are really good at building things for a specific need using items you had laying around. Fantastic way to save a lot of money. Using wood clamps so there was no damage to your truck was a great idea. Sounds like the sheep are safe and sound and home. Can't wait to see them. :)

Thanks for the kind words. I appreciate them. My wife thought the clamps were a good idea too. :-) Yes, sheep are home safe and learning that we're not going to kill them. LOL Skiddish things!

Great easy to follow instructions, the best part is you already had all the materials on hand. May your Pasture be lush and your sheep fully counted! Looking forward to the next update.

Thanks @overthewait My compulsive over-buying of materials on projects probably helped. ;-) Either way, was nice for this one to be "free".

sometimes simple is better!!

That is a right fine dang transporting cage, sir! Looks done up by a professional! Really! You did a great job modifying your pickup for it! Color me impressed!

Mom said we didn't have the money for the big crayon box, so I'm using Orange. :-D Thanks for the compliments on construction. :) To be honest, I was a little bummed that my wife took it off the truck for me while I was gone the next day. I was looking forward to driving it into the city and making my froo-froo coworkers question it! Hahaha

Damn it all! Didn't get to show it off! Haha.

Congratulations @greenacrehome! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Necessity breed ingenuity, love it! And congrats on your first livestock that has got to be exciting!!

Thank you! It's still cool to see them in the yard. Kind of still a surprise... like BAM! There's a sheep! :)

haha I felt that way about our ducks but then we had to contain them. Can't wait until they roam again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59