A Personal Thank You to one of the WhalessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy7 years ago

I read a post in DIY by @papa-pepper a while back and I want to personally thank him for posting it. I doubt he'll read it with the notifications he must receive on the daily but it's out there now, which makes me feel better.

He did a post a while back about saving money on broken prescription glasses. I was on my last pair of contacts and my glasses were broken so I headed over to the Dollar Store, found some reading glasses that closely matched mine and popped out my lenses from my Ray-Ban frames into the $6 Dollar General brand and they actually fit!

The top pair is the Dollar General brand reading glasses with my prescription lenses in them and the bottom are my broken Ray-Bans.

I've been so broke lately and having a hard time establishing myself in Tucson that I've been resorting to a ramen-noodle diet in recent days and thought I was SOL when it came to eye-wear until I remembered his post.

Thanks man! You saved me from having to decide between having tacos this weekend or sticking to ramen noodles for another two weeks.

Thanks for viewing!


Please UPVOTE / FOLLOW / RESTEEM


steem.jpg

Sort:  

Papa Pepper. Is there no end to this guys talents?

Posts like this one demonstrate how helpfulness and generosity within the Steemit community can directly benefit people when the chips are down. I'm sure there are more great ideas out there like this one and seeing people doing some genuine good helps to build my confidence in Steemit. Great post and appreciate you sharing it.

Thank big papa. His post was the original that saved me probably $200

WOW! Glad that you remembered! Also, you're in Baton Rouge????

I used to live in New Orleans! Gotta get back one of these days! I think I'll have to resteem this in a bit!

Ah, I caught the Tucson part now. Speaking of Ramen Noodles, I do have a good recipe... let me look it up...

I'm actually born and raised in New Orleans! I grew up off Canal Blvd on Colbert St, graduated from De La Salle, but most of my friends lived in Metairie and Kenner-brah lol

I used to live near St. Charles and Carrolton.... Hurst / Dominican.... but worked down on Magazine Street.

Magazine is actually my favorite Mardi Gras spot for Thoth, Midcity, Okeanos (my favorite parades). There was this yellow dive bar close to Napoleon I would drink at around 9am to get ready and had some great time out there.

Carrolton and St. Charles (the River Bend) is actually my favorite spot in the city though. Great vibes down there!

I used to love some Cooter Brown's!

Excellent choice! If you dig beer, your other choices are Bayou Beer Garden(my favorite), Bulldog on Magazine that's owned by Bayou Beer Garden, and by the Riverbend (St Charles and Carrollton) is World of Beer... If you ever visit again.

You see @papa-pepper did see you post!!!! I do miss New Orleans and Baton Rouge. I lived in both places a couple of times in my life.

Yeah, surprised me. He's a busy man on here. I'd love to live there again someday but the way the taxes and cost of living has increased due to taxes, I'd have a better shot in California. Arizona will have to do for me.

oh I didn't know about the cost of living in Louisiana had gone up....sorry to hear. I'm in New York now so I know all about taxes and costs of living being high! On top of it we now have land in NY to build a homestead, for artists with anarchist tendencies, it normally wouldn't sound too promising but it works just fine and we're doing it!

I'm hoping to do homesteading out here in Arizona one day. Prices are cheap here in general but nothing like getting a huge tax break. I'd probably try to do the urban homestead though.

Homesteading makes sense....

I don't understand how anyone with a yard of some kind wouldn't grow at least some beens. Mental laziness I'm sure plays a big role.

We are a little too urban where we're at though there is a garden we can use to grow food right around the corner!

I used to hydroponically clone basil plants then transplant them to soil pots in a yard that was no bigger than 400 sqft. Within two to three months I had about 120 plants. I was selling them for five bucks out the front and still ended up throwing some away. You don't need much space at all to grow food.

pappa pepper is a WHALE?
who knew?
I knew him when he was just a minnow.
how he grew!

Not really, but some have claimed.

Ha-ha he can seem like a whale to new comers, was just going to leave a comment about this.

Wow that's a good trick!!!! Thanks for the tip @geoffd84 and @papa-pepper , I just got into the world of wearing glasses....good to know.

This is an awesome post!! Thank you for joining the #gratefulvibes challenge!!
This post will be "in the spotlight" in today's #gratefulvibes challenge at my blog!!

That is an AWESOME solution! I wish I'd thought to try that not long ago when my old glasses broke.

Wow! This is a great tip. @papa-pepper is just full of really good ideas. Glad that you were able to fix the glasses so inexpensively. I will remember this tip the next time my frames break. I hope your fortunes turn around soon. We all have been in dire straits at one time or another.

@papa-pepper has tons of good advice - and he is a successful and helpful user we can all look up to.

If you didn't know, there are official definitions for minnow, whale and in betweens. @papa-pepper is a dolphin - check him out on steemitboard

It just so happens that Dolphin Papa Pepper is one of the very top authors on this platform, and from my experience looking for worthy 'whales' to follow - one of the most respectable users on the platform.

i am glad to sew this post thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67