$2.00 Spaghetti Dinner for Six - The AMERICAN Way - Recipe and Rhetoric - @papa-peppers 1000th post

in #anarchy8 years ago

The following is an example of why I have pretty much "opted out" of the American rat race. However, the recipe still works, as long as you follow the directions.



RECIPE


INGREDIENTS

Go to your nearest dollar store or super-center and purchase $1.00 worth of Ramen Noodles & $1.00 worth of Ketchup.


DIRECTIONS

Boil water in a pot and add Noodles, stirring occasionally for 3 minutes.


Strain Noodles and place in bowl.


Add "Spaghetti Sauce" (Ketchup) and mix thoroughly.


Garnish and serve. You might want to add Oregano Flakes or no one will believe it's Spaghetti, but that might cost you another dollar, which could create more problems than it will solve. Let's call Oregano Flakes "optional" just to be safe.



RHETORIC

Cheap lives eating cheap "foods" with money earned from cheap wages has become incredibly too mainstream for me to desire to be another spoke in the wheel. Especially when the wheel is just one of many, on a massive vehicle driving in the wrong direction, at least as far as I'm concerned. There was a time when only Lab Rats at laboratory food and when the only Guinea Pigs were, well, Guinea Pigs. I'd rather not just be part of some twisted social experiment.

Honestly, I could just as easily buy all that I ever wanted on credit and look just as good, if not better, than the Jones' next door. I could have easily settled for a 1/4 acre lot in the middle of the suburbs with a white picket fence so that my wife and I could have our dog, cat, and 2.3 kids and live happily ever after in offices on opposite sides of town desperately trying to pay off the interest.

Personally, I am no longer interested. So much as I am able, I desire not to fuel such a machine. Rather, I'd like to be able to follow my plan for my life, and not theirs. Personally, I may care more about my life than they do anyway, so I think I'll grab the wheel on this one folks.

Could I feed my family what they are offering me? Of course I could, but food is some of the fuel that runs this machine. I wouldn't put diesel in a gasoline engine, so I'm choosing not to put the lab rat food in my body. The soil still works just fine over here (at least for now), so we'll have a little food revolution in our yard from here on out and get back to the roots, literally.

I am still equipped with teeth and a digestive system, so I think that my body can handle processing its own food. There's no need for me to set up a factory just to accomplish the processing of my food. Do we have the freedom to buy whatever they offer us off of the cheapest shelf we can find? Absolutely, I'm just hoping that we have the freedom not too.

If the recipe that I shared earlier is your mother's favorite, my apologies, I meant no offense. I only desire to encourage us to ponder the thoughts that pertain to exactly what is going on around us, and what we can do about it. Too often, I get the feeling that I may be poisoning myself and my family, and personally, I'd rather not be paying for it.

If there is one thing I've learned from THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS, it's that if you can swallow it without dying or becoming ill, it'll pass as edible. Should I have to apply the same evaluation process at the supermarket?

I'm sure many of you may have a clue what I'm ranting about, and I certainly do not desire to bore you. I'm just hoping that you'll ponder, and consider, while you still can. If you want some free seeds to plant your own garden let me know (actions speak louder than words), and thanks for reading my 1000th post.

Also, I ate the "Spaghetti"... this time... - @papa-pepper


proof-of-$2.00-spaghetti

Sort:  

Can i have some @papa-pepper? Its time for lunch here.

Is this just a clever ploy to get me to bring you your forks back?

Congrats on the 100th post!, was a good read!

That's 1000th, but I know what you meant. Enjoy that great bicycle ride that you're on!

Woah, @vlad, you're HUGE!

Are you making the same thing that I'm enjoying on the outs?

Man, am I glad that I didn't have to pick up this recipe in prison....

Oh my lord @papa-pepper - I take pride that I keep my food budget to under $500/month feeding 3 adults, but you've taken budget gourmet to a whole other level of ghetto. << Please note that I say that with a huge amount of admiration.

While I'm kind of afraid to try your ramen spaghetti because it may actually test my septic system if I consumed it, I'll stick with my $1.50 box of noodles and 50 cent can of tomato paste. :)

The recipe certainly does work, and "ghetto" has been used to describe my work before.

I try to keep the cost if necessities low so we don't need as much, and enjoy growing our own as a way to have a healthy and cheap option for a good supply that I can trust.

Thanks for the comment!

You crack me up with your proof of stuff!

Just want to make sure that you still remember that I'm not a plagiarizing spam bot!
How have you been, I've missed your posts?

I get the proof of thing's thing. They're awesome! I'm good.

I'm glad you liked my posts. Going back to work cut my flow. I'll restart posting soon hopefully.

My version of that for the lean times that I had was as follows: a pack of 5-7 cereals mix, with current RUR/USD rate it comes to ~$1.5, a kilo of onions for another $0.5. I also add some spices for flavour & health benefits, and just a little bit of mayo for fats (here in Russia mayonaise is quite good). Oh, and I pour some boiling water, then in like 5 minutes it is ready.
While not the healthiest of foods, but like $5-7 last me about week or maybe ten days. Oh, and that includes buying spices and herbs, which last for about a month or maybe two, depending on which ones.
At some point I'll do a photo set like this one, if you are interested.
But anyhow, I mostly don't participate in the system as much as I can now.

At least you made it through. ;-)

Actually I sometimes have breakfasts like this. It is an okay way to start the day, if it is not the only thing you are eating for several months. Even with a big variety of spices, it becomes a little bit boring. And it is also the way that I've developed a taste for eating my porridge spicy. Most people I know loke to add jams etc, but it just doesn't do the same for me! :-)

I tell you man I have had my 2 minute noodle times. I remember a long time ago that is all I could afford for 4 months and that was all I ate for 4 months . It may not be the most nutritious meal but it keeps you alive:)..and to be honest doesn't taste that bad either, i can still eat them now, add a few things to spice them up a bit...maybe some of your peppers:)

I used to just eat the solid cakes of noodles raw. I didn't even open up the seasoning packets for "sprinkles". I always though that they tasted like unsalted saltine crackers that way.

I have the noodles and some homemade ketchup, just dont got the balls. How would the seed giveaway work?

People just message papa-pepper on https://steemit.chat with a valid US shipping address and I send them free seeds.

This gets me trough.

Yeah, carrots are a good option...

I love ramen noodles and have tons in storage!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15