Mid-Day, Dye-in-Hair- Check in | The top 5 Questions I get asked about my full head of blue hair...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of steemit covers (27).png

Yes, I’m sitting here with blue dye in my hair. I can’t do much else than maybe watch one of these final episodes of Breaking Bad that we have left, and give you an update and maybe offer some of the knowledge I've picked up on my personal hair journey.

As I say to my mother when she asks if I have plans to go back to my natural hair color…

It was a bit of a tricky setup today, but I’ve been taking out my creative impulses out of my hair since 15 years old, so nothing I couldn’t handle.

IMG_8162 copy.png

my very first all blue hair dye- November 11 2014

I should have taken photos for you, but the gloves got in the way of that, and I kind-of wanted to just get straight to it, you see it had started to snow by the time I got up the momentum to do it. Mind you, I only re-dye my hair every 3 or 4 months so it’s not THAT big of an inconvenience on my life. and FAR preferable to sitting in a salon chair fr 6+ hours and shelling out a couple hundred bucks.

So while I sit here letting the pigment seep deep into my hair’s strands let me answer the top 5 questions I get asked having blue hair…

5. How Long does it last??

Well, that depends on a ton of factors including the type of dye, the color and how you treat it.

Rule of thumb is, warmer colors fade faster than cooler ones, (reds especially) and even though cool tones do fade, (blues and purples), when they do, It’s a MUCH more preferable faded color you end up with, so that kind-of buys me some extra time. I don’t really mind it faded personally.

Untitled design (10).png

*July 18 to Aug 30 fade status of bright magenta back in 2014- reds fade ridiculously fast- DYE-er BEWARE!

Another factor is using heat. Hot tools (curling irons, straighteners ect) will fade color faster, as well as hot water from your showers.

If you avoid hot tools, use dry shampoo instead of washing your hair every day, and have a cool toned hair color- You can expect to get at least 3 months out of your color. (Don’t tell your hairdresser I told you that- I’m not trying to make enemies of folks who know how to wield sharp scissors.

4. Isn’t your hair Damaged??

Well no, and also yes. I do have to bleach my dark brown hair to a suitablely lifted blond in before I go blue, BUT, I only bleach new growth using a low volume developer (meaning the process is slower but more gentle).

Untitled design (12).png)

blue hair. It's a gateway drug folks... here's when I was just dabbling....

I also use a direct dye, which is just that. A vegetable based dye, think concentrated food coloring for your hair. I don’t use any dyes that have any further lifting or bleaching agents like peroxide.

Also, as mentioned above, I use cool water on it always, I don’s use straighteners or blow dryers, chemical processes (other than the first bleach- one a year) and I very rarely curl it.

So yes, while having a mystical magical hair color is more damaging to your hair than “virgin”hair. There are plenty of more damaging things you can do do your hair that don’t even involve dye.

Either way, prepare to condition, in the shower and afterward if possible. I like Argan oil personally...

This size lasts me over a year

(organ oil)

3. Where did you learn how to do that?

In short. Youtube, I did a TON of my own research (as you should too). But also my Mom. You see, before she became licensed as a Dog trainer, she had been (and still is) a liscenced hair professional. She taught me the basics, how to give a straight trim, about bleach ect, and I filled in the blanks with YouTube.

The most important thing she passed down to me is a fearlessness when it comes to hair. She’d experiment on mine all the time with non-permanent stuff and I LOVED it, as an art form, but also as a form of expression. If you ever want to meet a group of folks who aren’t precious about their hair being “too short” or “the wrong color” hang around hair dressers, they change their hair like swapping out a new pair of shoes.

Untitled design (11).png

rainbow hair and a narwhal shirt...I told you, it's been EVERY color, you didn't believe me did you...

We used to say, “It’s just hair- it grows back!” It’s never that serious, and never something to get worked up over.

The MOMENT I decide that keeping up blue hair is too much of a pain, I’m OUT. For me it’s about fun, and expression, not vanity or keeping up an appearance.

2. Will You Ever Change it??

Do I seriously see myself laying on my deathbed with ultraviolet blue purple hair… no. But then again, possibly….

I can tell you this. — My hair has never been one color for this long EVER. It’s been about 3 years and counting. I don’t really notice it as blue anymore, It feels just as natural as if it grew out of my head this way, I know that’s odd to say, but that’s the best way I can describe it.

VSCO Cam-1-1.jpg

another perk of having bright blue hair, is it's really easy to spot yourself in videos! Here I am talking to the lovely @anahilarski in @mynewlife 's steemfest recap video

I think green could be SUPER cool, like some serious she-hulk vibes, or maybe a lighter more neon shade of green, but truthfully, it’s always got to be low maintenance, nomad friendly, and cheap.

Will I ever go back to my natural hair color- probably not…but who knows.

1. Is it expensive?


At the salon YES. If you have a full hair of dark, medium to long hair that needs to be lifted, you're looking at about 6 hours and $300-500 bucks, and then maintenance every 6 or so weeks.

For me, I buy 2 boxes of dye, because I mix my own shade of blue and purple, but one would do for my length hair. They’re 6 bucks each from Amazon. If its your first time, you’ll have to buy a mixing bowl, a brush and gloves, (and bleach if you have dark hair), but for me, I already have all that stuff. So no. It costs me 6 bucks every 3 months.

IMG_6108.JPG

Oh did you know they made a plus-size blue haired barbie with green eyes...??! I'm still waiting for my royalty check Mattel....

I hope that I made the best of this time waiting for my hair do suck up all the dye and that you got some value out of this if you’re thinking of DIY-ING (get it???!) Your hair at home.

PLEASE always do your own research, ask your hair stylist what’s best for your particular type of hair and alter your appearance at your own risk. I’ve been doing this for nearly 15 years and I fully accept the consequences of my hair dye OCD ways. ;)

OOH! And NOWW I get to put a pretty green check next to another goal for the month… YAY!!

If you have any other questions about my hair, or at-home hack-job hair dying, I’ll be happy to answer your questions in the comments just as soon as I’m done rinsing this dye out.

May your hair grow ever more magical each day,
<3 Dayleeo


febgoals.png

morning-coffee.pngless-clients
wellness.pnggreycheck.pngdye-hair.png
update-heydayle.pngtee-shirts.png
birthday.pngvalentines.png
hygge.pngpeak-district.png
60-rep.pngfollowers.png
altcoins.pngsushi-rice.png
Sort:  

I like blue hair.) In general, I'm for changing the appearance, if possible ... And if nalyso?)

nalsyo? Either way, in general I recommend the blue hair way of life ;)

Perhaps I will follow your advice! While I remain golden-haired ...

Vary good

thanks friend

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

My main issue with blue is that it looks green if you don't bleach the life out of your hair. I prefer pinks and purples.

I loved that magenta but I couldn’t deal the high maintenance of it :) but mixing in some purple certainly helps

Blue is a lot harder to maintain. I know because my girlfriend tries. I use Manic Panic and La Riche. What's your poison?

I used to use manic but I REEEEALLY like this stuff called Spark I found when I lived in the city- it’s on amazon though and pretty cheap ! Stays like a mother effer

Gonna have to find a supplier that ships to Israel. Hey ebay, come over here a sec...

*sparks rather and from what I can tell they totally have your color ;)

Yeah ahead of you. http://www.sparkscolor.com/sparks/magenta-mania.html

Too bad their website doesn't say anything about international shipping.

hahah sooo cool and i think its awsome you have that colour, why be the same? :)

Right? Life is too short!

The blue hair is part of your signature style now, so I think you're stuck with it. Lucky for you (and us) it looks great!

Scoff!!!! Like I’d take personal brand advice from a guy who just changed his profile image!!!! - lol thank you friend

A lot of old ladies have blue hair so I think you'd be okay keeping this well into old age!

You have no idea how exited I am for that phase of life @juliakponsford...

Your signature blue hair suits you! 😁
I died my hair a shade of red last year. Although I did like it, it took too much time and it got all over my towels for days. Plus it faded super fast. With two littles, I just don't have the time right now. 😁

Yep that's just the problem I always had with reds, turns out the old school reds they used in the 50's and 60's had much more staying power, but they were found to be carcinogenic- so we're stuck with what we have now.

A few years ago my mom gifted me what we lovingly call the "hair dye towel" which is a towel specifically designated for members of the household who dye their hair regularly- it has served me VERY well over the years lol-

There are red shampoos and conditioners that have a color deposit tint in them- they help a LITTLE, but you're right the red struggle is REAL

I don't know if I could pull off blue, but you rock it!
That's a great idea about the towel! Maybe someday I will try a different color. Red is difficult. Haha.

there's all kinds of color theory you can dive into about skin undertones and hair dye, I mix a little more purple in the summer when I'm tan and go for more of a cool blue in the winter because I'm pale as snow white lol

Only because my OCD brain dictates so, at the end of the day there really are no rules. I say, just do a streak of blue (or any other color) by your bangs, or maybe an underneath piece by your neck and see how you feel..

baby steps ;) <3

Great tips, girlie! Now I know who to ask if I want to play with hair colors! <3

Happy and Honored to be your Hair-y- Dye-Mother ;)

LOL! Yay! I've always wanted one of those! :D

Your checklist is awesome!
I just learned that word "hygge" last week and did a post on it! What book are you reading?? :)

You actually mentioned it in your post! It’s by Miek Wieking (spelling?) really good so far!

Thanks for the compliment RE the chexklist, I had to gamify my month in order to not get so overwhelmed by everything I wanted to do lol- it took me ages to make but I think it was worth it :)

I started dying my hair when I was 18. (Iknow, I am a little slow), but I stopped when I turned 60. At that time I decided I liked my grey hair since I earned it and I couldn't be bothered dying it anymore. One of my sons used to dye his hair blue too!

"since I earned it"

love that! haha Your son's got great taste!

His school didn't think so. They called us in and told us that he would have to redye his hair back to the original shade of blonde. We said no, that it was his choice and there are greater things to argue about besides hair colour. Since they were a private school and need students, we told them either like his hair or I take all 4 sons out! He got to keep his blue hair!

Good for you!!! What a cool mom u are- hope those boys know how lucky they are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00