You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Bow Build - Part 4

in #diy6 years ago

Sweet, I saw this was your first bow build. Do you also shoot, other bows?
For a first time you have a lot of knowledge about the process. The grain and coloration of the wood is definitely going to make this interesting in the next step. Can't wait.

Sort:  

Thank you!! Yes, I shoot other bows as well. I've been shooting for about a year now. After seeing a lot of vids on making them, I thought I'd try it myself. I also did a step by step post building custom arrows a few weeks ago. (^_^)

That is pretty awesome, I will have to check out the arrow post tomorrow. That has to be some precision work if they are not almost perfectly straight it can be bad. I've shot some compound box competitions and fletched a few arrows. For compound bows, the arrows have to be almost perfect or you will have very bad shots. It stinks when you hit one of your arrows with a shot and it dents it or cuts one of the veins or busts the nock. Sometimes it can be repaired but a lot of times it cannot.
Have a great day.... 😅😅

Very true!! Wood arrows for traditional bows are a bit more forgiving, but are still a challenge to make and even more challenging to keep from breaking! LOL

Yep, and I would just cringe when I would break or split one, just thinking about all the work that goes into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58018.11
ETH 2448.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34