DIY Bow Build - Part 4

in #diy6 years ago

Hey Steemers!
I'm back with the next installment of this Mollegabet bow build. Today, it's Tiller Time!! Tillering is the process that gets the limbs of the bow bending evenly and working together.

Now that the glue and fiberglass has dried, the bow looks like this...

20180822_110122.jpg

20180822_110135.jpg

By slowly removing wood from the underside of the bow, it starts to get the kind of bend I want.

20180822_122003.jpg

I look closely at the parts that are stiff and parts that are bending too much. I mark the stiff parts with a pencil, unstring the bow, then sand that area down to get it to bend better.

20180822_201519.jpg

I continue this process, slowly, over and over and eventually get to this...

20180822_210650.jpg

I use a "tillering tree" to help see those stiff parts and "hinges" better.

20180822_215036.jpg

Working it more and more, I get it pulling to 24 inches.

20180822_222324.jpg

Then, I spent an hour or so working the limbs. I put the string on the bow at the proper length and pull it back and forth...

20180822_230109.jpg

I'll continue on with this process until I get the bow to the draw length (28") that I want. I also start shooting arrows. Pulling to about 20" to exercise the limbs...

I'm going to keep at it and get to the next step, Finishing the bow. Stain, paint, jutte twine, and lots of polyurethane.

Thanks for following!! (^_^)

Sort:  

Awesome series of bow build posts - I appreciate seeing the process with all the pictures and the videos - great work! :)

Thanks for resteeming this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much!! Really glad you're enjoying the build along! (^_^)

An awesome and very detailed guidance you bring to us!

It’s good to see many new fresh ideas here everyday, like your cool bow. So well deserved up from curie. :-)

Thank you! (^_^)

howdy from Texas sir beatking13! that looks like a beautiful bow, how l long did it take to make it? I need to go find your other posts to see what kind of wood that is but it looks like a tremendous project and I think with all the measuring and sanding you have tons of patience!

But obviously the work is worth it! great job!

Thank you! It was a lot of work but definitely worth it! I think I worked on the bow for about a full week, taking my time and going slow, allowing glue and paint to dry. Absolutely click on my blog and you'll see all the steps with details and pics to go along. (^_^)

howdy sir beatking13! thanks for getting back to me and thanks for showing us this project, I think this has to be very unusual for steemit so I salute you. A week doesn't sound bad and I see that it is made from Red Oak mostly, great job and I think that this will inspire alot of people to make their own!

Thank you! I really appreciate that! If this helps anyone make their own bow, I'd be ecstatic! Let me know if you decide to make one! (^_^)

howdy back again sir beatking13! If I decide to make one I certainly will let you know, thanks again.

The bow is coming along nicely.

Thanks! I'm excited! I've already been shooting it to warm up the limbs. (^_^)

This is a cool project. Is it your first bow?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Yes, I'm new to bow making but not woodworking. I plan on doing a couple more using different designs!! Glad you're enjoying it! (^_^)

Hello that is very interesting. I never thought about how to make a bow before im sure the result will look awsome.

Thank you!! Its a lot of work but the reward is worth it! The final bow is done and the last parr of the series is up now. Check it out! (^_^)

Hi beatking13,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome!! Thanks a bunch!! (^_^)

This is so cool! Really turning out great, particularly for your first bow! Love that you included the videos as well. Interesting and super simple technique to just mark with the pencil where it isn't bending as well and sand there, makes perfect sense. Great post :)

Thanks! I appreciate that!! This is addicting and I'm already planning the next one!! LOL.

The process is so interesting. Great job! I upvoted you.

Thank you!! (^_^)

Sweet, I saw this was your first bow build. Do you also shoot, other bows?
For a first time you have a lot of knowledge about the process. The grain and coloration of the wood is definitely going to make this interesting in the next step. Can't wait.

Thank you!! Yes, I shoot other bows as well. I've been shooting for about a year now. After seeing a lot of vids on making them, I thought I'd try it myself. I also did a step by step post building custom arrows a few weeks ago. (^_^)

That is pretty awesome, I will have to check out the arrow post tomorrow. That has to be some precision work if they are not almost perfectly straight it can be bad. I've shot some compound box competitions and fletched a few arrows. For compound bows, the arrows have to be almost perfect or you will have very bad shots. It stinks when you hit one of your arrows with a shot and it dents it or cuts one of the veins or busts the nock. Sometimes it can be repaired but a lot of times it cannot.
Have a great day.... 😅😅

Very true!! Wood arrows for traditional bows are a bit more forgiving, but are still a challenge to make and even more challenging to keep from breaking! LOL

Yep, and I would just cringe when I would break or split one, just thinking about all the work that goes into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57710.10
ETH 2439.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33