Box of Tunes Project Part 4

in #diy7 years ago

Its been a while since I made an update. Been busy and weather has been poor, but I have manage do get some work done on this thing. First, here are the links to my previous posts for the project to get caught up or to refresh your memory as to whats going on here.

Intro Post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@bgrass/steem-funding-a-project

Part 1. https://steemit.com/steemit/@bgrass/steem-funding-a-box-of-tunes-project-part-1

Part 2. https://steemit.com/diy/@bgrass/box-of-tunes-project-part-2

Part 3. https://steemit.com/diy/@bgrass/box-of-tunes-project-part-3

It is not going anywhere near as well as I had pictured it, and my expectations weren't high. But I'm going to keep truckin. Here are some photos of where I stopped to explain where I'm at and where I'm going so far. Also to see how its going together in case someone wants to build the same thing. Though I am pretty embarrassed to put them up, at least someone might learn from my mistakes. I still have hope that it will work out in the end.

IMG_0475.JPG

IMG_0476.JPG

IMG_0478.JPG

IMG_0477.JPG

As you can see, my wood working skills are poor at best. As well as my wood buying skills, because the wood all turned out to be a lot more warped then I thought when I bought it. Since they were warped, and I made all my measurements and cuts at once, all the pieces that are supposed to inside the box don't fit right and there are no square angles. I have accepted this fact and have chosen to proceed instead of starting over. Probably another poor decision, but lets just see how it goes. Make as many mistakes as I can this first time so I don't make them again on the next project. Hey, it will give it character too right?

So what I've done is make a simple box, the sides sitting on the bottom and the top on the sides. Then took those 1X1 pieces inside, the front two inches in and the rear three inches in, to attached the inset front panel and inset rear panel to. I'm going to glue the front and rear inset panels in place to try and seal everything up. I will also be putting some kind fill or foam in the box to help keep any annoying resonances to a minimum. The reason inset the rear panel deeper is to leave room for the amp and battery in that space. I will attach them to the outside of that rear panel, cut section out of the top so you can get to the knobs on the amp and then put another back panel over that to cover it up. I'm going to make some kind of access on the very back panel to get to the speaker connections and to remove the battery. Also I'm going to screw the back panel instead of glue so I take things apart if need be.

I know your all cringing at the sides of the box, how they don't line up because of the warped sides. I'm just going to cut and sand the over hanging bits back flush with the sides, so It will now have a curved side instead of a strait side. Wasn't planned, but hopefully it will look good. With the front and back inset panels, I'm just going to have the massage the sides to get them to fit into the "not square" space they need to fit into. I think there is lots of sanding, testing, sanding, testing and more sanding in my future.

Next update I should have the box part at least done, maybe some finish work. I try to take some more pictures at different stages as I go along to better show how i'm doing the things I'm doing. Then I tell you all how I should have done instead as I learn more from doing things wrong. I still have a vision though and I still have hope.

Thanks for reading and following along,

Brian

Sort:  

its a coming on thanks for sharing

no one is cringing this is brilliant and coming along amazing. I really cant wait to see how this looks and you def need to do a video see if we can get a taste of any of the sound vs say house speakers or standard computer speakers.

I was planning on doing something like that. Its always weird when there is videos on speaker sounds, cause you don't hear the speaker on the video, you hear what the microphone is picking up and then your speakers reproduction. But a test between one set and then these will at least let you hear a comparison. Maybe I will do some little speakers, then some big ones and then this project. See where it falls.

I like it, yeah I agree def. you wont hear it pure, but the contrasting difference will give clues. cant wait

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87