Steem Funding a Project.

in #steemit7 years ago

So I had the idea of the Steem community funding projects its members are working on. The thought initially was around the idea of cars. you have all kinds of car forums and websites like Speedhunters out there with people showing their projects, giving tips on how to solve certain problems, coming with new ideas and inspiring others to work on their cars and do new things. I started to think that you possibly fund a build through steem. If you had enough support you could fund your project by giving updates and videos and photos of progress. Giving tutorials for suspension setups or what things off on car works on another. Through all these posts along the way, if you have enough people who vote you up, the community could end up funding your project. Which made me think it might be a worthwhile idea to try out. But then the costs of a car and the time I would have to commit to working on it is way to big for me. So I tried to think of something smaller.

I needed something that shouldn't be beyond my ability, something I would be interested in, something that would have inexpensive components and something I wouldn't have to commit to much time in each step. I decided a box of tunes would be what I would build. I actually made one out of a cardboard box and a bunch of junk in my garage one night when I couldn't sleep for who knows why. I even made a cardboard transmission line in it. Which does absolutely nothing. Anyway I figured I could make a simple, portable stereo for outside, in the garage, or when cooking in the kitchen so I don't have to annoy everyone with the living room stereo blasting while I cook. I can get cheap audio parts from partsexpress, get some wood from the hardware store to build a cabinet, put it all together while making posts about my progress along the way and see if I earn enough steem to cover the costs. At first I thought I should literally buy all the parts with the steem I earn only, which would be the best way from an experiment point of view, but I also want to get this thing built. So I figured I just buy parts with cash, hopefully having enough steem to cover the costs at each step, but not letting that hold me up. Mostly it will be the figures at the end rather then along the way. So that's my plan.

Then the thought popped in my head. What if other people on steem see this as taking advantage of the system. That I'm some kind of douche bag tricking other people in to buying my toys for me. So I thought I would throw the idea out there to see if generates negative feedback first and to scrap the idea if enough people object. If it seems like it doesn't annoy to many people, then I will make another post with more about my plans, some design ideas, parts lists and whatnot so if someone else would like to build the same thing, it will all be there.

I was told to put pictures in posts, so here is an image I found that is kinda like my idea. Though I don't know if mine will look so nice.
boombox.jpg

Sort:  

its brilliant idea, and I look forward to seeing it finished. Im sure yours will look amazing

아주 좋은 포스트

Congratulations @bgrass! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Crowdfunding on Steemit's one of the obvious early applications (and absolutely a perfect winner- we can fund whoever we want to the degree we're capable, just by building up STEEM!) of the whole platform- I see similar attempts in other contexts.
It never hurts to keep repeating good ideas, it makes the good ones great.
I'll look forward to your progress, but don't be offended when thousands of other efforts drown you out purely by volume...

That looks brilliant, next stop is part one and two, really excited to see how this pans out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47