DIY Air dry clay ornaments

in #diy7 years ago

Is it too early to make decorations for Christmas ? I already have the holidays vibe; usually I get the feeling of Christmas in November, but this year, I'm more accurate with the time frame.

Don't you love a simple DIY with nice results ? I know I do. This is my first time using air dry clay to model something. Recently I have bought some air dry clay packets, and I already love my first creations. Sure you need time to find the best thickness, but it's not hard.

Supplies:

  •  air dry clay
  • rolling pin(something cylindrical)
  • cookie shapes
  • a brush, water
  • straw, the outside of a pen
  • acrylic paint(optional)
  • sandpaper
  • ribbon, rope, etc.
  • modeling tools(optional)

Steps:

- use rolling pin to roll the clay (I used an empty photo frame to have the same thickness, using the sides as support for the rolling pin- see photo below); I gave it a thickness of about 0,5 cm

- cut shape using cookie cutter

- make hole for strip using a straw, the outside of a pen

- wait 24 hours to dry

- use sandpaper to make them smooth

- paint with acrylic(optional)

And if you want to give them a distressed look, use sandpaper after the acrylic paint has dried. If you have stamps you can add the model to the surface of the clay. 

Remember you can use water to smooth the surface of the clay, or cover small cracks,before it dries.


Sort:  

Such a lovely idea! They look great

And they are easy to make :)

Awesome as always my dear Anca :)

:) Thank you !

It's never too early to start, though it seldom happens ( :
These are fun ornaments. They will look great on the tree, and would also look really cool on an old dead branch for a tree (I've had a few of these, they are pretty nifty, with small clay fish like your hearts, and single color lights). Thanks for showing us some new Christmas ideas, and reminding me it's not far off and to get busy.
I really like your new signature too. Very creative.

I think I get bored sometimes and need to try new things; and that's not a good thing, because I leave projects unfinished :)
As for the signature, I am trying to learn Gimp, and it's called a smoke effect with a brush; I thought it will go well, smoke from woodburning, a hidden message somehow :)
Thank you for stopping by !

I like that analogy for the image. Very creative.
And I don't even want to think about unfinished projects. Though it is much better than sitting at the screen/drawing table, etc, with no ideas where to go or start from here. So maybe it is a good thing...the ever-expanding mind.

:) I guess it might good thing. But you need extra space to put all the unfinished projects; sometimes you forget about them :)

I love this idea!
And your use of a picture frame to get a consistent thickness is simply brilliant.

I always try to look for objects that I already have at home. Thank you!

Hay this time you are using to create some new and yes it's right time, to start decoration. It's good to see all photos and also all steps are very clear to understand.

Thank you! Maybe someone here will want to try it.

Great !

You are an artist and i like your ideas and designs. Regards

Nice.

This looks really amazing!
I have some clay as well and might try this out!
These look also cute to give away for Christmas.

That's what I was thinking; they go well as gifts :)

I love your DIYs :)

:) Thank you. This is a really simple one. I think I will add them to the Christmas tree.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54