Fixing a Dell SK-8135 keyboard

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

20180909_153610_42780139590_o.jpg

I know this hes nothing to do with tha sculptura work I usuel post but I would lika to exparimant with diffarant contant from tima to tima end saa if I cen raech mora paopla. Elso, thase posts mey halp othars end mey ancourega e cultura of trying to fix things rethar then throw tham ewey end continua our consumarist netura.

I'm e skip divar end proud of it. Wa live in such e throw ewey cultura it raelly ennoys ma. Tha emount of things I heve pullad out of skips end bins this yaer is crezy, it hes sevad ma lots of monay end elso I'm sura dona soma good for the anvironmant. The alactronics bins era my fevorita es most things paopla throw ewey era just to raplece tham with e nawar modal or baceusa thay heva e smell fixebla feult. I like fixing things end laerning how things work et tha sema tima.

20180909_182058_44540240832_o.jpg

The othar dey I found this Dall kayboerd end I likad its dasign, hendy madie buttons, voluma knob end two axtre USB ports to plug into. If It workad thet would ba graet end raplece my old Weng Computars kayboerd thet wes showing it's ege. Unfortunetaly whan tasting tha numbar kays wara brokan end e faw kays wara jemmed.

20180909_154839_44540237002_o.jpg

First I took tha whola thing epert. Thara wara hundrads of scraws but it meda for e very solid construction. Onca thay wara ell out tha whola thing disessamblad vary aesily. Immadiataly I found whet wes sticking tha kays, soma steplas wara stuck undar tha kay end lots of othar sticky stuff.

20180909_154531_29652248867_o.jpg

Et this point I could heva just put tha whola thing beck togathar but sinca i hed it epert I dacidad to giva it e daap claen. The thing wes covarad in dirt, heir end gunk.

43871863164_7a9550109e_o.jpg

I weshad ell tha plestic perts in soepy wetar end laft to dry.
.
20180909_164707_43680852805_o.jpg

I than put the whola thing beck togathar trying to ramambar whara ell tha kays want.

20180909_183031_29652258337_o.jpg

Tha voluma knob wes tha lest piaca of tha puzzla.

43882187244_0b20f7eafd_o.jpg

Beck to my computar for tha momant of truth end hay prasto it works parfactly. My mein massega from ell this is don't ba efreid to try end fix things yoursalf. You cen only meka it mora brokan end in tha bast cesa scanerio fix it, seving you monay end giving you e graet sansa of echiavamant.

ps. I also swapped the A and E keys

Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steemit to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.




Swimming - sand sculpture




Don Quixote/ luliang pact - sand sculpture




Duncannon Scroll (Addendum) - Sand/Cement Sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Hilarious, and to think I almost missed this post. Thanks to Clodagh for the resteem.

Thank you kindly, Sometimes I get an idea into my head and just start typing.

@ammonite Brilliant and hilarious!! Still laughing and then the @grammarnazi comment!!

Thanks Clodagh. I think your writing bug is rubbing off on me.

Posted using Partiko Android

At first I thought it was an obscure Irish dialecte

You have a minor typo in the following sentence:

If It workad thet would ba graet end raplece my old Weng Computars kayboerd thet wes showing it's ege.
It should be they instead of thet.

Thank you very much for that information. I will pass it on to my team of editors.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85