You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Best Diving in the Philippines: Malapascua

in #diving7 years ago

Hehe, I always have to smile when I read something about Malapascua. I ended up there after a tip of a Dutch guy when backpacking trough the Philippines in 2015. I had vage plans to try 'diving' because I like snorkeling but I've never heard of Padi, SSI or certificates.

I walked in a dive shop and started my open water and I loved it. I did my training dives at the sites you mention and I decided to do my advanced and nitrox too.
Couldn't have had a better place then Monad Shoal with the treshers to do my mandatory nitrox dives!!! :-)

Also like the relaxed atmosphere on the Island. Unfortunately I heard from some resent visitors that the island changed. A lot of dive shops and hotels poped up and the beaches are dirty with garbage. Too bad this paradise on earth is getting damaged by mass tourism.

Sort:  

Its nice to see that if someone has been there he knows exactly what im talking about. I was there in 2016 and yes you are right buddy, there is one diveshop next to another now and toursim is taking over even after the big hurricane yolanda destroyed lots of it. Its sad but still it is really beatiful. It will change fast tough im pretty sure...i hope the tresher sharks will stay there since this is the main attraction for this place. Im sure you will never forget the dives with those sharks aswell ;) Just checked your steem and see you are a diver too. Would be awesome to exchange some experiences so i gave you a follow!

Have you been to other nice places in the philippines for diving? So far i have been in thailand, philippines and egypt. Any other places to recommend?

I'm on 102 dives now with my 100 back in December on Elphinstone reef - Egypt. After getting my Padi on the Philippines in 2015 I joined a dive club in my home town who organizes trips and I also did some dives when on holiday with my girlfriend too.

Have Philippines, Egypt, Cuba, Belgium, Holland, Italy, Maldives and Indonesia in my log and I hope to explore much more of the underwater world. Would recommend a liveaboard at Maldives if you like big life like sharks and Manta's.

Following you too now, keep on using the diving tag :-)

Yeah Maledives is still on my list! Egypt was pretty awesome too, i dived the thristlegorm shipwreck there and it was amazing. I got more than 300 dives now but at some point stopped counting :D

I will do some more diveposts, stay tuned! For sure i will be happy to read yours!

cheers mate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30