Antique Scrying mirrors -- Witch Gates.

in #divination7 years ago (edited)

I have two antique scrying mirrors, Witch gates, Witches Wishing Mirrors, or whatever you want to call them -- these are ancestral and just gorgeous in person, they have a real presence in a room and everyone always makes note of them because of the "pull" they feel from them.

scry2.JPG

This one above is my favorite and comes from the area around Cornwall in the British Isles. I am not sure of the actual date but I put it somewhere in the 1800's (19th century). I know of a few others (none are the same as they are hand carved and silvered, but there are some that I call "Kin" that all come from the Cornwall area) and if you do an internet search you will find those "famed" examples (along with a couple of terrible 1970s, poorly carved hacks).

I use it in the way my great grandmother taught me and it's potent, which is all I'm going to say on that. I actually thought twice about sharing these publicly, however, I feel they are of interests to the greater community.

scry3.JPG

This mirror above is potent as well and has a convex hand silvered glass that really distorts nicely, it is also early with its original patina. I have the sterling fork up for scale.

scry.JPG

Both mirrors are hand made, both are done in the early hand silver way and both have some sort of cakey residue that is from the process of consecration I would imagine. Both mirrors are small -- the Cornish one is the larger of the two 17x10).

I hope you enjoyed these deeply interesting artifacts with provenance!

Always look deeper, my friends. The world is filled with magic and wonder. ;)

Sort:  

When you look into them, do you feel anything different, by this I mean do you see yourself in a different life? One time I looked into a scrying mirror and saw myself so soft and I cried.
I am barely catching up on all the posts on steemit, I've missed you! I had a dream of being in a selenite and quartz crystal quarry, they were blasting the mines and I held on to a worker who looked indifferent and almost felt he didn't want me there, I saw my son standing on top of the mine as everything exploded and I saw he was a grown man and so strong! I knew nothing happened to him even though I could only see a bit of him, I knew we were safe and I had a couple of geodes in my hands. I don't know why I was compelled to share this with you. haha

WOWZA, somehow I missed this comment.

Yes, I have seen myself, but not as myself and I could not put a time or place upon the image -- wild and a little scary when the mirror visage moves and you do not.

I love your experience of being moved to tears. <3

Gurl, that dream in juicy and another reason I can't wait to hear of your dream journeys.

P.S. I totally missed your presence here when you were gone.

No worries friend :)

You saw your image move while you did not! Wow! I am a strong believer of parallel universes and I know we all exist someplace else as well. I think the woman I saw myself as in my scrying experience was a gentler me that had an easier life, but somehow her lack of experiences contributed to her lack of "strength" and so she looked almost innocent, something I wish I still had in me.

I missed you lots too, glad to be back :)

I often wonder about people that have it easy, even other me's in other lives.

As it is says on Bette Davis's tombstone monument "She did it the hard way", this could apply to me and this life. Nothing easy has come my way except being creative, the rest has been hard fought and uphill.

We stand strong, Sister. <3

These are some of the most interesting family heirlooms I have ever seen. You were right about the pull, you can feel it through the pictures.

I am grateful to have them in my life. I think we are caretakers to special things, old things, rare things... I sometimes wonder where they will go next after I'm gone as I'm the last of a long line. Only time will tell. ;)

Great song from Cowboy Junkies that seems appropriate with this post.

I find that old special items that are need of caretakers have a way of finding the next person themselves. It is romantic to think of an items life, and all the change the world has gone through and they have remained the same.

Holy smokes! These are gorgeous!!! I have never used a scrying mirror that was actually made for that purpose. I can feel their vibration even looking at the photos! Is this your preferred method of scrying?

I don't have a preferred method, however, these have so much "juice" that I take them very seriously as I've actually had a couple of scary experiences in them. haha.

I love looking into water when I stop and think about it.... really clear still waters are amazing for scrying.

I know there's probably a proper name for it, but I like to divine by looking into flames .... Yikes with the scary experiences!! <3

Oh yes, me too.. the flames just pull you in. I am not sure of the name, I just call it fire gazing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31