You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Think we Shouldn't be Allowed to Upvote Our Own Posts

in #discussion6 years ago

Self-voting can't technically be prevented, since people could just create two accounts and upvote one from the other. The purpose of voting on posts is to curate content, and that purpose doesn't change based on whether you wrote it or someone else. If you don't think it's worth upvoting you probably shouldn't post it in the first place.

I usually don't upvote comments unless I think they're particularly notable contributions or they're in a long thread that needs to be sorted.

Sort:  

You do have a point about multiple accounts. I feel that most of my own posts should be upvoted, but I just feel that it comes off as arrogant to do it myself, and I want to be recognized for my talent (we all do). If I don't put much effort into it (for example, when I showed off a cute picture of my 2 year old for the fun of it) then I don't promote it in post promotion spots. That's how I operate anyway.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81