You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "These Idiots..."

in #discussion7 years ago

Once upon a time, I was young. I still remember not believing the wisdom of those who were older and wiser. I thought maybe they had never tried my way, and I knew best.

Now I tell young people things I was told but they don't believe me. They think their way is better. They think I never tried it.

Reality: an idiot is born every minute. Out of politeness, I don't call them names, but it is also obvious that explaining with facts, logic and proof to them is a pointless exercise. They don't want to listen to the different opinion, even if 99.9% of internet articles explain the truth.

A good example of this would be a young mother who destroys her health by insisting her baby has to sleep in her bed, despite instructions from her own mother, all her friends, doctors, the internet and her husband that baby should sleep in his own bed in his own room. Yet despite all the evidence, she insists her baby "needs" her, and as a result is sleep deprived and irritable. Everyone but her is an idiot. Then she has a second child or a grandchild. Now she is wiser and knows.

Everyone seems to have to learn the hard way, and until they have learned, the others are idiots. The world isn't about to change. Old and young think "idiot", but only badly educated trolls say it out loud.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61038.71
ETH 3404.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50