You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citing sources - is it enough? The war against plagiarism continues

in #discussion7 years ago

copy / paste of copyright material is wrong, full stop.

There is a lot of public domain material around that people can use. Even at that, they should at least take the time to format it so it fits in here on Steemit.

If all they want to do is copy/paste then the upvotes should reflect the effort. LIke no upvote. IMO

A new user @ocanada posted a public domain story of Stephen Leacock's this morning after taking the time to format it for easier reading on Steemit and adding graphics.

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.16$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

If all they want to do is copy/paste then the upvotes should reflect the effort. LIke no upvote.

I completely agree with this. I'm not sure how I feel about the post from @ocanada, but atleast there's some effort there. I'm not sure how hard it is to obtain a readable copy of this story, so I don't know if this is a good service or not. I personally wouldn't upvote it though, so I will just leave it alone instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92