You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Artificial Intelligence: What will it be like?

in #discussion6 years ago (edited)

Fascinating thread! Personally, I don't think we have the ability (and are never likely to) to develop full-blown AI in the sense that most of the dystopian commentators view it. We have been trying to create life in the laboratory for a hundred years, and I don't think we'll ever accomplish that either.

Yes, the jobs we have now may be replaced by bots eventually, but I think there are likely to always be new types of jobs layered on top of that which will still require actual human intelligence. I am no Luddite and I am not afraid of progress, but I don't see "AI" ever truly threatening humanity.

Sort:  

I don't see "AI" ever truly threatening humanity
me neither. Even if it existed why would it want to?
it's needs and goals would not intersect with humans.

Right on, and if it is thoroughly designed and built by humans, it would necessarily be programmed (and learned/taught) to serve and suit humanity.

The opposite assumptions make for a great sci-fi/horror theme, I have to admit, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30