Phished By GOOGLE?? Are they, should they be culpable? They profited adrev... you be the judgesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)

So detective work was strung upon me so I figure out how my ETH was stolen, phished from me the other night.

GOOGLE AD
https://www.google.com/search?q=shapeshift&rlz=1CAACAR_enUS756US757&oq=shape&aqs=chrome.4.0j69i57j0l4.4173j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Screenshot 2017-09-30 at 10.51.11 PM.png

WTF GOOGLE the phishing site ad is right at the top of the search!!! shapeshifth.io or shapeshift.in

Can you see the obvious misspelling typo in the url that google algorithms easily catch and know what is going on..
This is crimnal negligence. You can repay me my lost funds.
You are aiding and abetting fraud and profiting at account holders expense.
Please repay me my stolen scammed 0.25 ETH.

Who at Google do I turn this in to? Does anyone at Google even care? Do you think Google is culpable?

What do my fellows steemers think?
Thanks

Sort:  

Ahhh scary. Sorry to hear that. Read my post below on how to protect yourself from these phishing sites!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@dwongch/crypto-security-aaa-protect-yourself-and-others

Sorry to hear that you got scammed. Google can't do much but only take down the fake google ads.

Report to google at:
https://safebrowsing.google.com/safebrowsing/report_phish/

Ublock works better to block google ads.

Is there an app that will work on chrome os? Here is one. https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ublock-origin/cjpalhdlnbpafiamejdnhcphjbkeiagm?hl=en
Wonder if its the right one?

Yep, that's it!

Adblock huh, sounds like something to put on ALL devices.. More research here we go... ty 4 advice

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I either type in urls manually or click a bookmark for anything money related, whether its my bank account or something crypto related. Sorry for your loss :(

Well I figured the one at the top would be the legit one. Nope just the one Google is partnered with for the big money. .. I was doing this after hours, preying on the tired guy. Wow

That's awful. Definitely report it to Google.

I had something similar many years ago - like 10 years or so when we were all innocent and not schooled to look for this stuff. I needed to download iTunes, so I did a search, and clicked on the iTunes site which I didn't realise was an ad at the top of the list.

It all looked legit, except it was a New Zealand (.nz) domain. Being in Australia, it didn't seem that far out. The thing that made my phish alarm start beeping was that before I could hit the download button, a page came up asking for credit card number. I had downloaded iTunes a few times before on different computers and didn't remember ever having to enter a credit card beforehand. If it was used for purchases, sure, but not before even downloading.

I expect that the next thing after stealing my credit number would have been a virus in the download. Unfortunately, before the credit screen I put in my email address and got bucketloads of spam in the months after, but it was a very small price considering what could have happened!

Good luck with chasing it.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59356.21
ETH 2723.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53