You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Phished By GOOGLE?? Are they, should they be culpable? They profited adrev... you be the judge

in #discussion7 years ago

That's awful. Definitely report it to Google.

I had something similar many years ago - like 10 years or so when we were all innocent and not schooled to look for this stuff. I needed to download iTunes, so I did a search, and clicked on the iTunes site which I didn't realise was an ad at the top of the list.

It all looked legit, except it was a New Zealand (.nz) domain. Being in Australia, it didn't seem that far out. The thing that made my phish alarm start beeping was that before I could hit the download button, a page came up asking for credit card number. I had downloaded iTunes a few times before on different computers and didn't remember ever having to enter a credit card beforehand. If it was used for purchases, sure, but not before even downloading.

I expect that the next thing after stealing my credit number would have been a virus in the download. Unfortunately, before the credit screen I put in my email address and got bucketloads of spam in the months after, but it was a very small price considering what could have happened!

Good luck with chasing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52