Discussion time; "Depression" (+ photos) Best comments will be upvoted to the moon!

in #discussion7 years ago (edited)

Subject: Ways to deal with depression

gray scene
Sometimes life is gray.

Have you been depressed? Do you have a depression?

I have personally noticed there is no way around it, but there may be ways to live with it, possibly even use it to ones advantage, and as a fuel to creativity. My own retreats from depression are running the local go-club and playing the game, and photography.

Game of Go
You play the game today...

Playing go helps me concentrate and rid my thoughts off the world around me. Photography gives me the opportunity to reflect upon myself and see the beauty of the world.

Reflection
Reflecting...

panorama
Looking at the world...

Crooked beauty
...and its crooked beauty

Fly away
Sometimes I want to fly away...

stay
...sometimes I take a picture, and stay.

Of course, the number one distraction from being depressed are my two amazing kids, Leo and Miro. They may distract me a bit too much, and stress me to no end, but frankly I wouldn't change it for anything. I love them.

my boys
I just take a picture, and stay.


[Previous post: GridCoin price (EUR) for the last 90 days (followup)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

I am no doctor, but this is a great topic. I, like you said, think a bit of melancholy from time to time is natural and beneficial. I think that is a pure reflection of life itself, there are ups and downs. However, if one has seeming to have nothing but downs, then seek medical attention.
I would like to say being in Michigan, especially in the winter, we do not get much sunlight. That can lead to Seasonal affective disorder (SAD). My doctor recommended taking over the counter vitamin D. This seems to improve my moods throughout the year. There is a lot of information online showing a link between low vitamin D levels and depression. Your doctor can do a quick blood draw to see your levels.
BTW your kids are awesome :) Be well my friend.

That's an excellent take, thanks for participating.

I have personally been diagnosed with a Moderate major depression (F32.1) last year. I receive medication for it, but I've experienced major set backs when I've run out of those pills. It seems my brain takes a huge leap off a cliff whenever I've been a few days off. (It's also a bit unnerving to have those auditory brain twitches for withdraw symptoms.)

There's also a reason I've knowingly cut the medication short at times as it seriously affects my libido, and I want to have some relations with my wife too. Some times that has made me feel things a bit too intensely, like a pincushion really. Everything feels like the end of the world, and I've had to resume taking the pill.

I've been told I should change medication, but as this one seems to work I am too scared to take the risk that the next one doesn't work.

Changing medication also looks like a long hard road, because for that, I should first gradually come of this one, then start taking the next one in small doses. If it doesn't work, it's the same road again. Leaving a working medication feels like taking a giant leap of faith, not knowing if my depression relapses in the process.

Vitamin D is a factor probably yes, but in my case using it every winter, it didn't do too much of anything. We live relatively near to the arctic circle and the Winter days are dark, but my depression seems to get worse in the Spring when it gets lighter. I don't quite understand why.

So my "solution" is to fill my life with all kinds of activity to take my mind off the things. The problem here is, I tend to spend money and time doing trivial stuff and the bills keep coming, I forget to pay them and there's yet another dark cloud hanging over my head.

I'm thinking of a holiday, just for me. Away from everything so I could load up my batteries. The problem is I can't escape from my duties as a parent, as a husband, and that kind of makes me even more anxious.

Sometimes it feels very difficult to be me. But I'm glad that the medication takes the worst of the worst out of the equation. I can do some mundane tasks better now.

am in my 50s now. we seem to be similar. when i am feeling the same way as you. i do some physical exercises. thou not too much since we are not young anymore. otherwise i might break my body easy. i did run marathon when i was in my teens. we do have same hobby. have 3 kids. they helps too. but for me that physical exercise works for me. :) mountain biking, hiking, morning jogging try adding it to you daily or weekly task. hope this helps. Thanks

Nice! I'm also in my (early) 50s. Yes I think you are right, I could do with some sort of physical exercise like jogging or riding a bike. I try to lift dumbells every now and then, but I might need a regular program for that, otherwise I forget.

I've been thinking about repairing the bicycle and using it for my errands instead of the car. That might do something. In fact, that's what I'll to today, I'll buy new inner tubes and service the bike.

Thanks for the push, I really needed that! :)

Your welcome. will ride with you :)

Nice post, I like it but sorry i can't afford to buy you a beer XD

Haha, I don't think I can upvote this comment to the moon yet. But thanks for yours, and I'm glad you participated nevertheless.

Nice pictures, I’m following you now.

Thank you. I appreciate it, and hope you like my other stuff too. :) I'll be checking out your blog too.

Good posting. ... followed n upvoted

You're welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25